2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
63 members (AlkansBookcase, Barry_Braksick, danno858, BadSanta, danbot3, Animisha, Burkhard, 14 invisible), 1,836 guests, and 283 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
I
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
I
Originally Posted by Tyrone Slothrop
For example, m in another subject, I've been learning the Russian language for close to 30 years off and on, and have not made the progress I was hoping! frown

Perhaps you should involve yourself into a similar forum in the target language. You will be amazed how beneficious it can be for your language study. wink

Originally Posted by Animisha
Originally Posted by thepianoplayer416
People who are polyglots would devise a systematic way of learning a new language such as pushing for 5 new words / phrases a day. Something that is not very demanding and easy to maintain. He / she would do it consistently over a few years.

A bit OT, but at my age, with my memory, the 5 new words / phrases a day would not be a problem. On the hand, remembering the 5 words or phrases that I learned 100 days ago, and 101 days ago, and 102 days ago... They would all be gone unless I would have used them several times.

I agree with Animisha, learning X new words a day is a waste of time IMO. Words dwell in memory only when they are encountered in a context and memorized being associated with that context. Songs are probably most helpful in this matter.

9000 Post Club Member
9000 Post Club Member
Originally Posted by Iaroslav Vasiliev
Originally Posted by Tyrone Slothrop