2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
57 members (Animisha, aphexdisklavier, benkeys, 1200s, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, 12 invisible), 1,869 guests, and 263 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2856242 06/07/19 02:37 AM
OP Offline
It's 3 months today since I started learning to play the piano, and it's been a really enjoyable experience, although without a doubt the most difficult and (at times) frustrating skill I've ever tried to learn. My teacher uses the Schaum method books, and I've so far "mastered" (or at least gained an ability to play reasonably well) 27 out of the 36 pieces in book 1 of the series. They don't seem to be very popular books around this forum, but I really like it. It teaches "traditional" classical piano technique, and I'm now up to the point where most tunes have melody in both the left and right hand parts. When I first started playing I thought I'd never be able to gain the ability to play with "hand independence" but, rather to my surprise, it's a skill that has slowly developed with practice. I have an excellent teacher - I only see him for half an hour a week, but he's been an enormous help to me.

I'm already playing what, to my ears at least, is "proper" music and I'm very happy with my progress. I look forward to the next 3 months!

Chris

Yamaha P-515, Yamaha Reface CP.
K
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
K
Fantastic to hear Cheshire and to my mind if they sound like proper classical music they are. Sounds like you are making great progress.

It is brilliant isn't it.

OP Offline