2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
30 members (Animisha, brennbaer, Cominut, crab89, aphexdisklavier, admodios, busa, drumour, Foxtrot3, EVC2017, 3 invisible), 1,214 guests, and 276 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2851402 05/23/19 09:40 AM
F
OP Offline
F
Hi, I am looking to buy a grand piano (of around 2m). I am a semi-professional classical pianist, living in Berlin. My budget is not so super high, unfortunately, so am looking for a good used one. I think I could use some advise in my search.

The sound I am looking for is difficult to put in words precisely. It should have a singing quality, depth and warmth. I tend to slightly prefer the more introvert-sounding piano's, but that is not to say there should not be clarity and openness in the sound - there definitely should.

First question: should I buy a modern or a restored old one?

Here in Germany, there are litterly loads of restored antique piano's on the market, from the eary 20th century, the 'golden age', as they are advertized. They are often sold for high prices, but I recently saw a Bechstein B from 1926 for around 13k. (Euros.)

The piano makers typically replace almost all of the interior and fill the cracks in the soundboard. But I have big reservations against buying such an old one. What are your opinions on this matter?

As far as modern grands go, Steinway is out of my league (the used ones, also the very old ones, start at around 30k here), but here are a few of the other brands that drew my interest:

-A 'modern' Bechstein B from 1972, still pretty old, and also completely renovated with Abel parts. Costs 18k.