2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad) Piano Sight Reading
train piano sight reading with your iPhone or iPad
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
75 members (1957, Bellicapelli, anotherscott, Blague, Abdol, 17 invisible), 587 guests, and 377 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
S
SMA55 Offline OP
OP Offline
S
I recently had my Steinway D rebuilt and have been very happy with its sound and performance since. I have had some experience voicing NY Steinway hammers before, but never brand new ones. The new hammers on my D were put through the normal preliminary and finishing voicing protocol by my rebuilder as recommended by Steinway, although my rebuilder says he uses less lacquer than most for this protocol--and then only selectively. I've had the piano back from the rebuilder for almost 4 weeks now. With a few hours of playing-in the hammers, several quickly became strident and "pingy" sounding, and I superficially and selectively needled the hammer crowns with a single needle through-the-strings tool (chopstick), and this brought the tone right back to where I like it. After several more hours of playing, some of these same strings returned to sounding "pingy", and I repeated the same kind of minimal needling of the crowns with similar results. The problem is that I'm finding the hammers resume having that harsher, pingy tone after every several hours of playing. I do like the tone of well voiced NY Steinway hammer