2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
41 members (alexcomoda, Animisha, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, 9 invisible), 1,157 guests, and 317 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
PawelS Offline OP
OP Offline
P
I was playing a digital piano for a couple of years now and decided to buy a grand piano. I'm new to the world of pianos and would appreciate any suggestions, comments from more experienced people here.

I live in a detached house and have a room 14'x21' witch sloped ceiling between 8'-12' (pretty much empty with hardwood floors).
I'm looking for a big grand piano 6'-7'.
I found a 1980 Yamaha C7 for $19000.
The owner claims that it is in excellent condition with no flaws in the soundboard. Hammers and dampers replaced 10 years ago.
I'll get a piano technician to look at it, but before that, I have a couple of questions:'

1. Isn't the piano to big for my room? (according to my research it is too long by 4" (21x21x14x14=70) although I don't know if higher ceiling will help)
2. What should I expect from almost 40 years old grand piano, I'm ok to put another $5000 to replace any action or strings but from what I've read it is near the end of life would that mean it will require expensive rebuild, soundboard will start cracking, pinblock will require replacement or it will need to be refinished?
3. Is the price right?

Last edited by PawelS; 04/03/19 10:40 PM.
K
K
I'm in the process of searching for a piano near 7" right now too.

Have you read about how to voice a room (and that's from where you got your measurement restrictions?)