2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
43 members (Andre Fadel, Animisha, alexcomoda, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, 10 invisible), 1,188 guests, and 317 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
G
OP Offline
G
Hi, I am a doctoral student from the Sydney Conservatorium of Music. I am investigating if people are able to estimate the recording date of a performance based on the performance practices heard in the recording.

The work that I am using is JS Bach’s Goldberg Variations performed on the piano.

The survey is conducted online. You will hear several recordings of different sections of the Goldberg Variations. You then have to attempt to match the recording to its performance date.

The survey takes approximately 20 minutes to complete.

The survey and more information can be found here:
Goldberg Variations performance practice research

Many thanks
Stephanie

T
T
Of course an opinion means nothing when it comes to surveys, but I'm guessing that the recording quality will overshadow any difference in performance characteristics that have changed over the years. Also, individual pianistic style will predominate an era that only includes audio-recorded history. If you could hear a performance of Bach, say, from 1700 then I'm sure pianistic style could be better correlated to era.

There is a big difference between knowing something and being good at executing. One is conscious, the other is subconscious, and the path to the subconscious does not usually lead through the conscious.
H
H