Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.7 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
Find a Professional
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Advertise on Piano World

(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Who's Online Now
93 registered members (anotherscott, Alex Hutor, ACSlater, Abdol, 36251, Animisha, AlphaBravoCharlie, Alex_G, Beemer, 24 invisible), 1,088 guests, and 5 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OT ... TV issue solved, what did I do? #2841492
04/22/19 05:20 PM
04/22/19 05:20 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 6,437
Vught, The Netherlands
Dave Horne Online content OP
6000 Post Club Member
Dave Horne  Online Content OP
6000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 6,437
Vught, The Netherlands
I solved an issue with my 2013 Samsung 4K TV and I'm curious to learn what exactly I did.

For a while, channel 607, a classical music TV channel (Brava NL Classiek), was unwatchable because of severe digital dropout. I had that issue before and that time, removing the plug to the TV from Samsung's UHD Evolution Kit, an external box with most of the TV's electronics, reinserting it and jiggling it, solved the issue. (This is a cable with sixteen connectors.)

That problem returned and digital dropout appeared on another channel as well, channel 19. I determined that the issue was with the specific TV and not with the provider.

This time I removed the Samsung cable, sprayed both ends with silicon spray (I couldn't find my contact spray), and reinserted it. That solved the issue for both channels.

OK, I get it, I cleaned the connectors, but why were only two channels affected?

Any thoughts?

Thanks for reading this. smile


website | mp3 files | Yamaha AvantGrand N3 | Roland RD 2000 | Sennheiser HD 598 headphones
Piano & Music Gifts & Accessories (570)
Piano accessories and music gift items, digital piano dolly, music theme party goods
Re: OT ... TV issue solved, what did I do? [Re: Dave Horne] #2841613
04/23/19 08:33 AM
04/23/19 08:33 AM
Joined: May 2017
Posts: 669
K
karvala Offline
500 Post Club Member
karvala  Offline
500 Post Club Member
K

Joined: May 2017
Posts: 669
My guess would be that they were the two channels with the weakest signal anyway and the dirty connectors causes the signal to drop below threshold or enter point of visible low quality. The other channels had signals sufficiently strong to withstand a weaker connection without visible effects.


Broadwood, Yamaha U1; Kawai CA67; Pianoteq Std (D4, K2, Blüthner, Grotrian), Garritan CFX Full, Galaxy Vintage D, The Grandeur, Ravenscroft 275, Ivory II ACD, TrueKeys Italian, AS C7, Production Grand Compact, AK Studio Grand, AK Upright, Waves Grand Rhapsody; Sennheiser HD-600 and HD-650, O2 amp
Re: OT ... TV issue solved, what did I do? [Re: karvala] #2841628
04/23/19 09:35 AM
04/23/19 09:35 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 6,437
Vught, The Netherlands
Dave Horne Online content OP
6000 Post Club Member
Dave Horne  Online Content OP
6000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 6,437
Vught, The Netherlands
Originally Posted by karvala
My guess would be that they were the two channels with the weakest signal anyway and the dirty connectors causes the signal to drop below threshold or enter point of visible low quality. The other channels had signals sufficiently strong to withstand a weaker connection without visible effects.


That makes sense. I looked at the signal strength after the problem corrected itself and will make it a point to look at that setting first when this happens again.

I had forgotten that in Settings, after jumping through a few menus, one can see the signal strength, quality, along with other properties of the channel in question.

Thanks for replying.


website | mp3 files | Yamaha AvantGrand N3 | Roland RD 2000 | Sennheiser HD 598 headphones
Re: OT ... TV issue solved, what did I do? [Re: karvala] #2841665
04/23/19 11:42 AM
04/23/19 11:42 AM
Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 531
Celestis
Granyala Offline
500 Post Club Member
Granyala  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2017
Posts: 531
Celestis
Originally Posted by karvala
My guess would be that they were the two channels with the weakest signal anyway and the dirty connectors causes the signal to drop below threshold or enter point of visible low quality. The other channels had signals sufficiently strong to withstand a weaker connection without visible effects.

If I understood his description, he took care of the connection between two TV components (basically motherboard to panel), I see no reason why there would be any difference in signal strength between different stations at that stage, signal should be standardized to whatever the panel wants. Oo

Indeed a funky mystery that one, off the head I couldn't explain why it only affected 2 channels either.


The backbone of modern industrial society is, and for the foreseeable future will be, the use of electrical Power.
VPC 1 -> Pianoteq 6 Std / Pearl Alto Flute 201
Re: OT ... TV issue solved, what did I do? [Re: Granyala] #2841680
04/23/19 12:49 PM
04/23/19 12:49 PM
Joined: Nov 2016
Posts: 844
Finland
C
clothearednincompo Offline
500 Post Club Member
clothearednincompo  Offline
500 Post Club Member
C

Joined: Nov 2016
Posts: 844
Finland
Originally Posted by Granyala
[...] I couldn't explain why it only affected 2 channels either.


A coincidence?

And now we -- as a species with a tendency to superstition which basically just means false assumptions -- we'll start believing that TV reception can be improved by spraying silicone spray to connectors that don't even carry the TV signal.

And after while we have a Silicone Spray religion and we bow to The Mighty Silicone Spray and keep misusing it in all the wrong places where it doesn't belong.

Like digital piano actions etc.

smile

Re: OT ... TV issue solved, what did I do? [Re: Dave Horne] #2841683
04/23/19 12:52 PM
04/23/19 12:52 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 8,406
Raleigh, North Carolina
MacMacMac Offline
8000 Post Club Member
MacMacMac  Offline
8000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 8,406
Raleigh, North Carolina
Next time try some tin foil ... the wondrous material that has been solving TV reception problems for over half a century.

Re: OT ... TV issue solved, what did I do? [Re: Dave Horne] #2841737
04/23/19 04:34 PM
04/23/19 04:34 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 359
Sao Paul, Brazil
E
EVC2017 Offline
Full Member
EVC2017  Offline
Full Member
E

Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 359
Sao Paul, Brazil
There is a thing called wetting current, meaning that power switches need a minimum current for the current to break an oxide film that forms on the contacts. So such switches, despite high current rates and low contact electrical resistance, may not work for low signal applications, i.e., cases where low currents are switched - look at Yammaha's toggle switches as an example. So it goes against our common sense.

The poor contact reducing signal strength makes sense to me, in the lack of a better theory.


Kawai ES8, Roland RD2000, Yamaha AG06 mixer, Presonus Eris E5 monitors, Sennheiser HD598SR phones.
Re: OT ... TV issue solved, what did I do? [Re: Dave Horne] #2841738
04/23/19 04:38 PM
04/23/19 04:38 PM
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 7,611
Northern England.
peterws Offline
7000 Post Club Member
peterws  Offline
7000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 7,611
Northern England.
I do remember when teles were new. And, a thump on the side resolved many issues before the repair man arrived . . . and took it away!


"I am not a man. I am a free number"

"[Linked Image]"
Re: OT ... TV issue solved, what did I do? [Re: EVC2017] #2841824
04/24/19 03:05 AM
04/24/19 03:05 AM
Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 162
Hawai'i Island
B
BigIslandGuy Offline
Full Member
BigIslandGuy  Offline
Full Member
B

Joined: Apr 2019
Posts: 162
Hawai'i Island
Originally Posted by EVC2017
There is a thing called wetting current, meaning that power switches need a minimum current for the current to break an oxide film that forms on the contacts. So such switches, despite high current rates and low contact electrical resistance, may not work for low signal applications, i.e., cases where low currents are switched - look at Yammaha's toggle switches as an example. So it goes against our common sense.

The poor contact reducing signal strength makes sense to me, in the lack of a better theory.


I agree about the poor contact being a good candidate for the culprit, but I think you're mixing up the roles of voltage and current. Low voltages can't push much current through a corroded connection and voltage is what would "break" the oxide, not a current. A source can be capable of delivering a huge current, but little current will flow if the path resistance is high (as with a dirty switch) and the voltage low. That's why 6V electrical systems in cars were ditched in favor of 12V. Even a slightly sub-standard connection would not permit 6V to push enough current through the starter to spin it.
A niggling point I know, but better to understand it the right way. smile

Re: OT ... TV issue solved, what did I do? [Re: EVC2017] #2842342
04/25/19 02:37 PM
04/25/19 02:37 PM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 6,262
Reseda, California
J
JohnSprung Offline
Unobtanium Subscriber
JohnSprung  Offline
Unobtanium Subscriber
J

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 6,262
Reseda, California
Originally Posted by EVC2017
There is a thing called wetting current, meaning that power switches need a minimum current for the current to break an oxide film that forms on the contacts. .


Can you provide some numbers? Are we talking milliamps? microamps? and at what voltages? Could this be what causes some 11 Watt LED light bulbs to start working again when you unscrew them a half turn and screw them back in?


-- J.S.

[Linked Image] [Linked Image]

Knabe Grand # 10927
Yamaha CP33
Kawai FS690
Re: OT ... TV issue solved, what did I do? [Re: Dave Horne] #2842407
04/25/19 05:34 PM
04/25/19 05:34 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 6,437
Vught, The Netherlands
Dave Horne Online content OP
6000 Post Club Member
Dave Horne  Online Content OP
6000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 6,437
Vught, The Netherlands
I remember an incident from my previous house which has an outside outlet. I plugged something into it and ... nothing. Yet again, I sprayed contact spray (or silicon spray) and that did the trick.

I should add that the electrical current here is 230 VAC, 50 Hz.


website | mp3 files | Yamaha AvantGrand N3 | Roland RD 2000 | Sennheiser HD 598 headphones
Re: OT ... TV issue solved, what did I do? [Re: Dave Horne] #2842414
04/25/19 06:05 PM
04/25/19 06:05 PM
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 224
Norfolk UK
O
Ojustaboo Offline
Full Member
Ojustaboo  Offline
Full Member
O

Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 224
Norfolk UK
I’ve got a 4K sat box. Two or three channels would break up or freeze, the rest were fine.

When on those channels I touched the cable that went into the sat box, channel unfroze.

The connector was screwed in tight.

I replaced the cable, zero problems since, but with original cable, 98% of channels still worked perfectly.

Re: OT ... TV issue solved, what did I do? [Re: BigIslandGuy] #2842421
04/25/19 06:34 PM
04/25/19 06:34 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 359
Sao Paul, Brazil
E
EVC2017 Offline
Full Member
EVC2017  Offline
Full Member
E

Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 359
Sao Paul, Brazil
Originally Posted by BigIslandGuy
I agree about the poor contact being a good candidate for the culprit, but I think you're mixing up the roles of voltage and current.


Not really. I just gave that as an example of a phenomenon that challenges the common sense (I learned about it not too long ago despite working with electronics for many years). Regarding the TV antenna input, I am not an RF specialist but I believe a poor contact may cause signal degradation because of impedance mismatch (remember antenna input impedance is 75 ohms and in VHF/UHF frequency ranges) and that degradation may cause the TV to not lock on channels with lower signal intensity.


Kawai ES8, Roland RD2000, Yamaha AG06 mixer, Presonus Eris E5 monitors, Sennheiser HD598SR phones.
Re: OT ... TV issue solved, what did I do? [Re: JohnSprung] #2842424
04/25/19 06:38 PM
04/25/19 06:38 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 359
Sao Paul, Brazil
E
EVC2017 Offline
Full Member
EVC2017  Offline
Full Member
E

Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 359
Sao Paul, Brazil
Originally Posted by JohnSprung
Can you provide some numbers? Are we talking milliamps? microamps? and at what voltages? Could this be what causes some 11 Watt LED light bulbs to start working again when you unscrew them a half turn and screw them back in?


About voltages/currents, I have no idea. I just registered the info in the non-volatile section of my brain, saving for the moment I needed it for some design.


Kawai ES8, Roland RD2000, Yamaha AG06 mixer, Presonus Eris E5 monitors, Sennheiser HD598SR phones.
Re: OT ... TV issue solved, what did I do? [Re: Dave Horne] #2844775
05/03/19 11:36 AM
05/03/19 11:36 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 6,437
Vught, The Netherlands
Dave Horne Online content OP
6000 Post Club Member
Dave Horne  Online Content OP
6000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 6,437
Vught, The Netherlands
I had another similar incident happen a few days ago.

My wife and I went away for a few days. We own a small business van, a Nissan NV200, and pull a small mobile home behind it which we place at camp sites and then bike around the area.

The Nissan is new but I've attached the mobile home (what we call a caravan over here) before to the Nissan without incident.

I attached the mobile home to the hitch and also made the electrical connection. These electrical plugs are much like plugs used on the old Leslie tone cabinets.

I attach the cable and we perform a safety check ... left turn signal, right turn signal, brake light, reverse.

Nothing from the Nissan or the caravan on the left \ right turn signals. I disconnect the plug and still nothing from the Nissan - no left or right turn signal ... and the fuses are intact. I try this several times and finally call the 24 hour help line from Nissan. They send a flat bed truck and the mechanic after a few attempts, depresses the Warning lights \ flasher (which flash the left and right turn signal simultaneously. That solved the problem and if I had done that, I wouldn't have had to call and wait for the tow truck.

I reconnect the mobile home to the Nissan, problem gone.


website | mp3 files | Yamaha AvantGrand N3 | Roland RD 2000 | Sennheiser HD 598 headphones
Re: OT ... TV issue solved, what did I do? [Re: Dave Horne] #2844791
05/03/19 12:08 PM
05/03/19 12:08 PM
Joined: Aug 2016
Posts: 3,066
G
Gombessa Offline
3000 Post Club Member
Gombessa  Offline
3000 Post Club Member
G

Joined: Aug 2016
Posts: 3,066
Originally Posted by Dave Horne


I attach the cable and we perform a safety check ... left turn signal, right turn signal, brake light, reverse.

Nothing from the Nissan or the caravan on the left \ right turn signals. I disconnect the plug and still nothing from the Nissan - no left or right turn signal ... and the fuses are intact. I try this several times and finally call the 24 hour help line from Nissan.


Odd. My thinking was the same as yours Dave, I assumed the connection shorted something and blew a fuse. Toggling the hazards probably would not have occurred to me either.


Yamaha P-85, P-105, CP50, Kawai MP11 || Kawai NV-10

Moderated by  Piano World 

Shop Our Online Store!
Shop Our Store Online
Shop PianoSupplies.com

Did you know Piano World has an online store, and that it's loaded with goodies pianists and music lovers want?
Check it out and place your order.

Special Purchase!
Keyboard and Roses Piano Bench Cushion Keyboard & Roses 14"x30" piano bench cushions Regularly sold for $79 to $100, now only $39. (while supplies last)

(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq Bechstein
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinways
New Topics - Multiple Forums
DH Baldwin (Samick) Action Stack/Key
by TimM_980. 06/25/19 01:11 AM
In Praise Of The Original Yamaha AG N3
by cphollis. 06/25/19 12:42 AM
Hammer wear on Kawai console circa 1968
by extravagrant. 06/24/19 11:46 PM
Audio Book: How to Listen to and Understand Great Music
by TX-Bluebonnet. 06/24/19 11:06 PM
Prices Paid updated ...
by MacMacMac. 06/24/19 11:03 PM
What's Hot!!
PIANO TEACHERS Please read this!
-------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
Forum Statistics
Forums41
Topics192,697
Posts2,841,783
Members93,708
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
Please Support Our Advertisers
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinways

Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver

 Best of Piano Buyer

PianoTeq Bechstein
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2019 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1