2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
56 members (Barry_Braksick, danno858, BadSanta, danbot3, Animisha, Burkhard, aphexdisklavier, 12 invisible), 1,820 guests, and 276 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
G
Gimbal Offline OP
OP Offline
G
Hi everybody!

First of all I want to say that I am new to both playing piano, and the midi/software side. I would also like to say that my english isn't that good....but I hope I can find the words to explain what my problem is.

I bought a Yamaha CSP-170 a couple of months ago, and I like it very much! For my untrained ears it sounds pretty good.

I stumbled over some Youtube videos of people playing piano with midi kontrollers and software instruments.....I especially liked NOIRE Piano from Native Instruments.

So I first ordered a Focusrite 2i4, a couple of Presonus E5 monitors, and all the cables I needed and hooked it up. I also have a pair of Audio Technica M50. I have this connected to my Macbook Pro.

Before buying any software I wanted to try out some free stuff.....so I have so far tested out the following;

Garage Band
NI Komplete
Pro Tools First
Addictive Keys
Pianoteq (free demo)

And they all sound pretty bad.....compared to the sound coming from my Yamaha, and especially Youtube videos I have watch, where people review all these different programs.

I have found sounds that sound amazing in some of these programs....but when it comes to piano sound, it's terrible. The best piano sound I have found is the one that comes with Pro Tools, and to my surprise....the worst one is Pianoteq!