2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
53 members (Aylin, brdwyguy, bcalvanese, accordeur, 36251, Bostonmoores, 20/20 Vision, Adam Reynolds, Burkhard, 1200s, 6 invisible), 1,336 guests, and 309 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
OP Offline
I'm curious, what's that one biggest single sticking point you have right now that's impeding your piano progress? I'm a teacher always looking to improve, and it'd be helpful to have some input on the biggest frustrations people have when learning at each level.

It could be a technical issue, for example:
I've been playing for 2 months and I just can't seem to get my darn hands to coordinate together.

Or it could be a motivational issue, for example:
I've been playing for 3 years, and when I go through the tedious process of learning a song measure by measure it's really hard to keep motivated.

Let me know! The more detail the better smile

N
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
N
There were and probably will be a lot more roadblocks, apart from those at the begining(hands coordination etc.) my biggest were probably polyrhytms, 2 against 3, 3 against 4 and so on. Currently I for example struggle with 3rd part of Paderewski piano sonata(jumps, awkward fingerings at fast tempo and so on). I think that is what makes i interesting as you strugle with those problems and in the end overcoming them. But I don't think I have one biggest problem holding me back overall. Maybe my memory smile

Roland LX708
K
K