2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
35 members (brdwyguy, busa, benkeys, Burkhard, fullerphoto, Erinmarriott, David Boyce, 20/20 Vision, Animisha, beeboss, 4 invisible), 1,228 guests, and 291 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
O
OP Offline
O
The self-taught pianist drawing crowds
Hundreds of thousands of people have seen student Nuradean Arreythe's piano skills after he learned how to play using online videos.

He practiced on an old keyboard until it broke – but even that hasn't stopped him from playing where he can.

Self taught pianist drawing the crowds

From the age of 12, he taught himself to play classical music
using an old keyboard and youtube tutorials

[Linked Image]
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
Nice story. Also, he has his head on correctly. He wants to finish University before even thinking about performing.

[Linked Image]
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
Must be nice to have an innate aptitude for it. A lot easier to pick it up! Wonder how many of him there are, compared to people who are physically unable.

T
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
T
Not direct to the video or the fellow in it, but just a pet peeve of mine: I hate when people claim that they are "self-taught." What they mean is that they haven't taken formal lessons, but they make it sound like they invented piano playing. wink If you're using videos, books, etc., then you are learning from other people, even if it's not real-time. Okay, I'm done ranting!

Enthusiastic but mediocre amateur.
9000 Post Club Member
9000 Post Club Member