2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
24 members (drumour, Foxtrot3, johnesp, Hakki, crab89, EVC2017, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, 7 invisible), 1,221 guests, and 293 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
V
Bronze Subscriber
OP Offline
Bronze Subscriber
V
hello all,

i am a beginner to the piano.in my upright it feels easy to play while standing compared to when i am sitting on the bench is that something wrong with my piano technique or the action ?

M
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
M
If pianos had been invented before benches we all might be standing. Jerry Lee Lewis made a career out of playing while standing, he even used his feet once in awhile. If you're comfortable and having fun, stay standing.

Yamaha P90, Kawai GL-10
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
I've noticed that a lot of performers/players/musicians these days (as opposed to many years ago) do stand at the keyboard/digital piano while playing. At least this is what I see when I see bands, etc... perform on TV. I guess this is part of the newer generation of keyboard/piano players.

As for me, one of the things I like about the piano as a musical instrument is that you get to sit while playing. In fact, I do believe this is how a piano was designed and engineered to be played.

If you want to play standing, by all means, do what you want to do. Reminds me of one of my original songs, "Play it like you want to". smile