2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
36 members (Davidnewmind, Dfrankjazz, brdwyguy, busa, benkeys, Burkhard, Erinmarriott, David Boyce, 20/20 Vision, 5 invisible), 1,131 guests, and 293 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
M
OP Offline
M
Hi all,
I am a professional pianist, looking to buy several pianos to practice on in Toronto. I came across a Willis piano with Louis XV art case today, beautiful case with wonderful tone. The piano plays well. It's a very small baby grand (the owner says he has measured 4'6", which sounds unusually small). It has been refurbished at some point in the 1990s, and the folks who refurbished it (I shall not name names), decided in their good judgement to paint over the serial number of the piano. But the owner claims they gave him the serial number - he passed it to me on a piece of paper, and it would put the piano at around 1950, which sounds about right judging by its look and condition.