2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
35 members (David B, AlkansBookcase, Bruce Sato, dh371, APianistHasNoName, BillS728, bcalvanese, 10 invisible), 1,199 guests, and 297 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
G
G
Originally Posted by GoldmanT
Learn 12 Debussy preludes, and the 3rd movement of Bartok's 1st piano concerto at whatever tempo I can manage it, plus a mix and match of simpler stuff to take me up to 40 pieces for the year.

I've been listening to the Bartok for about 25 years so it's pretty much ingrained in me, and I've read through the sheet music a lot so I know what I'm up against. I think I'm going to find it easier than some Rachmaninov/Chopin out there though, just because of the way my musical mind works.

And the Debussy preludes I've never ever listened to, so it's going to be an exercise in interpreting sheet music, so looking forward to that a lot. smile

So 7 Debussy preludes, which is pretty good, and helped my reading and interpretation a lot; bits of the Bartok which was hard work and kind of unrewarding because there was no sense of achieving anything, like making bricks but never building anything coherent with them; and maybe 25 pieces of the 40 - I stalled on this in the summer, having a toddler really limited focused practice.

I improvised a lot though, studied some jazz theory and will be focusing on composition next year, so maybe I'll end up writing 40 pieces instead. smile

6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member