2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
54 members (Aylin, brdwyguy, bcalvanese, accordeur, 36251, Bostonmoores, 20/20 Vision, Adam Reynolds, 1200s, akse0435, 6 invisible), 1,326 guests, and 304 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
W
OP Offline
W
I have a student who came to me using the Alfred Prep course. I am not experienced in using the Alfred courses so I am interested in finding out from other teachers what the transition is like from the prep course to the basic course.

Did your students find the transition easy? Did they find faster pace of the Basic course difficult to adjust to? Are there concepts or skills in the basic course that the prep course didn't cover prior to the transition point? I know the Alfred website says a smooth switch can be made from the prep course to the basic but I'm interested in what other teachers have found.

There are three points of transition which I am interested in:
Prep B to Basic 1B
Prep D to Basic level 2
Prep F to Basic level 3

8000 Post Club Member
8000 Post Club Member
At this level, it's not too late to start over. Switch the student over to a method book that you are more comfortable with.

I have a lot of problems with the old Alfred books. I can't believe it's still in print. And there are teachers who still use it. Even the folks at Alfred know there are problems with it, so they came up with a new system Alfred Premier, which is WAY better than old Alfred.

Private Piano Teacher and MTAC Member
W
OP Offline
W
Originally Posted by AZNpiano