Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.7 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
What's Hot!!
Mr. PianoWorld - the full interview
-------------------
European Tour for Piano Lovers
JOIN US FOR THE TOUR!
--------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
Find a Professional
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Advertise on Piano World

(ad)
Piano Buyer Guide
Piano Buyer Spring 2018
ad
Pierce Piano Atlas


Who's Online Now
58 registered members (AprilE, Agent88, CharlesXX, anamnesis, Chernobieff Piano, anotherscott, 12 invisible), 1,399 guests, and 5 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Stand-by feature on Monitors #2765030
09/12/18 05:31 PM
09/12/18 05:31 PM
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 7,079
Northern England.
peterws Offline OP
7000 Post Club Member
peterws  Offline OP
7000 Post Club Member
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 7,079
Northern England.
I assumed these days, that all had this capability to sleep after a designated period of inactivity, and instantly spring to life when the next note sounded. Am I right?
The ones I'm bothered about;

JBL LSR 305

Rokit 5s

Presonus Eris E5

Pioneer SDJ 50X


"I am not a man. I am a free number"

"[Linked Image]"
(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: peterws] #2765039
09/12/18 06:07 PM
09/12/18 06:07 PM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,537
Portugal
T
toddy Offline
3000 Post Club Member
toddy  Offline
3000 Post Club Member
T
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,537
Portugal
Well, I know they're not on your list, but my HS7s are of a similar type to the KRK Rokits. And my Yamaha HS7 certainly do not have any automatic shut down. They are just power amps and speakers with an on/off switch on the back - so you have to fiddle around the back of each one to put them on or off.


Roland HP 302 / Samson Graphite 49 / Akai EWI

Reaper / Native Instruments K9 ult / ESQL MOR2 Symph Orchestra & Choirs / Lucato & Parravicini , trumpets & saxes / Garritan CFX lite / Production Voices C7 & Steinway D compact

Focusrite Saffire 24 / W7, i7 4770, 16GB / MXL V67g / Yamaha HS7s / HD598
Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: peterws] #2765049
09/12/18 06:33 PM
09/12/18 06:33 PM
Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 293
Pennsylvania
drewr Offline
Full Member
drewr  Offline
Full Member
Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 293
Pennsylvania
You should probably put JBL 305/308 on the “no” list.

There is nothing in the literature included with my 308s indicating support of auto-standby / inactivity mode, there is no hardware switch / button or other actuator to enable/disable, nor have I ever noticed any indication of such behavior during periods (hours) of inactivity ..... just saying, if they do in fact support this feature it must be considered a stealth feature for which manufacturer prefers the end user to remain unaware 🙈 🤫


- Kawai MP7 w/ MDR7506 phones and LSR308 monitors
- Roland HP-508
Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: peterws] #2765054
09/12/18 07:00 PM
09/12/18 07:00 PM
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 7,079
Northern England.
peterws Offline OP
7000 Post Club Member
peterws  Offline OP
7000 Post Club Member
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 7,079
Northern England.
Thank you guys; I just checked the Pioneer ones; they at least, do have a 30 min shutdown facility.


"I am not a man. I am a free number"

"[Linked Image]"
(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: peterws] #2765064
09/12/18 07:55 PM
09/12/18 07:55 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 211
Sao Paul, Brazil
E
EVC2017 Online content
Full Member
EVC2017  Online Content
Full Member
E
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 211
Sao Paul, Brazil
Same with Presonus Eris 5 (no auto power off).


Kawai ES8, Roland RD2000, Yamaha AG06 mixer, Presonus Eris E5 monitors, Sennheiser HD598SR phones.
Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: EVC2017] #2765068
09/12/18 08:07 PM
09/12/18 08:07 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 6,582
North Carolina
MacMacMac Offline
6000 Post Club Member
MacMacMac  Offline
6000 Post Club Member
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 6,582
North Carolina
Have we become so lazy that turning off a switch is too much work?
[Linked Image]

Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: peterws] #2765155
09/13/18 09:37 AM
09/13/18 09:37 AM
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 7,079
Northern England.
peterws Offline OP
7000 Post Club Member
peterws  Offline OP
7000 Post Club Member
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 7,079
Northern England.
I guess so. I've earned the right to be lazy; I expect my piano to play when i hit the notes, not after jumping through hoops . . . .


"I am not a man. I am a free number"

"[Linked Image]"
Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: peterws] #2765159
09/13/18 10:06 AM
09/13/18 10:06 AM
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 841
中国
N
newer player Offline
500 Post Club Member
newer player  Offline
500 Post Club Member
N
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 841
中国
There are motion detection power strips, switches and gizmos that might help:

https://www.tricklestar.com/products/motion-sensor.html

Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: peterws] #2765162
09/13/18 10:20 AM
09/13/18 10:20 AM
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,289
UK
A
Alexander Borro Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Alexander Borro  Offline
1000 Post Club Member
A
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,289
UK
KRKs also have this feature, it is about 20 minutes. While I am not the lazy type, I switch off the 'puter every day. It is a nice feature to have on monitors, most models the switches are at the back and can be hard to see/reach once setup, so I don't bother switching them off.

The Eris E5 don't, pretty sure about that from memory, but check the manual to be sure.

Last edited by Alexander Borro; 09/13/18 10:21 AM.

Selftaught since June 2014.
Books: Barratt classic piano course bk 1,2,3. Humphries Piano handbook, various...
Kawai CA78, Casio AP450 & software pianos.
[Linked Image] 12x ABF recitals.
My struggles: https://soundcloud.com/alexander-borro
Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: MacMacMac] #2765222
09/13/18 01:15 PM
09/13/18 01:15 PM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,173
UK
S
spanishbuddha Offline
3000 Post Club Member
spanishbuddha  Offline
3000 Post Club Member
S
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,173
UK
Originally Posted by MacMacMac
Have we become so lazy that turning off a switch is too much work?
[Linked Image]

It can be a useful option on a variety of equipment. It’s easy to be interrupted, sidetracked, or just forgetful in older age, and the equipment auto power off can then be appreciated. Of course some people leave some equipment on all the time, even when it’s performing no useful function. Ditch your TV remote, or these days your smart home remote, that’s where ‘we’ are going.

Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: peterws] #2765238
09/13/18 01:49 PM
09/13/18 01:49 PM
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 7,079
Northern England.
peterws Offline OP
7000 Post Club Member
peterws  Offline OP
7000 Post Club Member
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 7,079
Northern England.
The Rokit 5 G3 doesn't appear to have auto switch off. The Rokit 4 G3 does. Strange . . . .


"I am not a man. I am a free number"

"[Linked Image]"
Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: peterws] #2765239
09/13/18 01:56 PM
09/13/18 01:56 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 6,370
Vught, The Netherlands
Dave Horne Offline
6000 Post Club Member
Dave Horne  Offline
6000 Post Club Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 6,370
Vught, The Netherlands
It would be interesting to hear from electrical engineers about how energy is typically used when a modern day amplifier is idling, when no incoming signal is applied.

I know from the 1960s that a tube amp was always generating heat but I would imagine that a transistor amplifier would behave more efficiently.


website | mp3 files | Yamaha AvantGrand N3 | Roland RD 2000 | Sennheiser HD 598 headphones
Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: peterws] #2765252
09/13/18 02:31 PM
09/13/18 02:31 PM
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,289
UK
A
Alexander Borro Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Alexander Borro  Offline
1000 Post Club Member
A
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,289
UK
Originally Posted by peterws
The Rokit 5 G3 doesn't appear to have auto switch off. The Rokit 4 G3 does. Strange . . . .


I actually l own the G3 RP6 and they definitely have that feature, so I can say first hand from using them. I doubt the RP5 is any different. The manual actually says it is 30 minutes, not 20 as I said, minor detail.


https://s3.amazonaws.com/gibson-pro-audio/krk/manuals/Rokit_cutsheet.pdf


Check the last page for confirmation.

If you check such info on store pages, be careful, it is not uncommon to see such mistakes.


Selftaught since June 2014.
Books: Barratt classic piano course bk 1,2,3. Humphries Piano handbook, various...
Kawai CA78, Casio AP450 & software pianos.
[Linked Image] 12x ABF recitals.
My struggles: https://soundcloud.com/alexander-borro
Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: peterws] #2765269
09/13/18 04:10 PM
09/13/18 04:10 PM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 507
San Diego, CA
S
SoundThumb Offline
500 Post Club Member
SoundThumb  Offline
500 Post Club Member
S
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 507
San Diego, CA
I have a 100 Watt audio amplifier that drives speakers and has the power down feature. When I tried to measure the standby power, it was less than my meter could measure, 0.1 Watt. These amplifiers are typically used for remote in house speakers for which they are hidden in a closet and so it would be inconvenient to have to turn them on and off. I assume monitors would have similar circuits.


[Linked Image]
Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: Alexander Borro] #2765291
09/13/18 05:20 PM
09/13/18 05:20 PM
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 7,079
Northern England.
peterws Offline OP
7000 Post Club Member
peterws  Offline OP
7000 Post Club Member
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 7,079
Northern England.
Originally Posted by Alexander Borro
Originally Posted by peterws
The Rokit 5 G3 doesn't appear to have auto switch off. The Rokit 4 G3 does. Strange . . . .


I actually l own the G3 RP6 and they definitely have that feature, so I can say first hand from using them. I doubt the RP5 is any different. The manual actually says it is 30 minutes, not 20 as I said, minor detail.


https://s3.amazonaws.com/gibson-pro-audio/krk/manuals/Rokit_cutsheet.pdf


Check the last page for confirmation.

If you check such info on store pages, be careful, it is not uncommon to see such mistakes.


That's good. It's always best to check the manufacturer's info first.


"I am not a man. I am a free number"

"[Linked Image]"
Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: peterws] #2765303
09/13/18 06:04 PM
09/13/18 06:04 PM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,537
Portugal
T
toddy Offline
3000 Post Club Member
toddy  Offline
3000 Post Club Member
T
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,537
Portugal
Peter, I've just been doing some research on this matter and a review in Harmony Central lists the fact that the Yamaha HS series do NOT have a standby facility as a limitation. The upshot of which is:

1. Don't buy Yamahas if you want automatic shutoff..... they're seriously retro and you have to switch them off with your own hands actually manoeuvring a toggle switch on the back panel, possibly involving a journey from the position you are seated to the leftside sound reproduction sector of your living room. And repeat the entire process for the right hand speaker.

2. Since the reviewer saw this as a noted disadvantage (this was in 2013), you can reasonably expect a wide range of active monitors that do have a standby in 2018.

https://www.harmonycentral.com/expert-reviews/yamaha-hs7-studio-monitors


Roland HP 302 / Samson Graphite 49 / Akai EWI

Reaper / Native Instruments K9 ult / ESQL MOR2 Symph Orchestra & Choirs / Lucato & Parravicini , trumpets & saxes / Garritan CFX lite / Production Voices C7 & Steinway D compact

Focusrite Saffire 24 / W7, i7 4770, 16GB / MXL V67g / Yamaha HS7s / HD598
Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: Dave Horne] #2765308
09/13/18 06:27 PM
09/13/18 06:27 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 6,582
North Carolina
MacMacMac Offline
6000 Post Club Member
MacMacMac  Offline
6000 Post Club Member
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 6,582
North Carolina
SoundThumb is right. Amplifiers use a trivially small amount of power when not driven.
Originally Posted by Dave Horne
It would be interesting to hear from electrical engineers about how energy is typically used when a modern day amplifier is idling, when no incoming signal is applied.

I know from the 1960s that a tube amp was always generating heat but I would imagine that a transistor amplifier would behave more efficiently.

Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: peterws] #2765312
09/13/18 06:43 PM
09/13/18 06:43 PM
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 7,079
Northern England.
peterws Offline OP
7000 Post Club Member
peterws  Offline OP
7000 Post Club Member
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 7,079
Northern England.
I had an old chassis amp with those ubiquitous EL34s, ECC 83s and one or two EF86s too (I know my valves) and stuffed it in a home made box. Played guitar with it in several venues, but I forgot to put holes in the top o' the lid.

It got hot. It distorted; I quite took to the sound since it covered my imperfections nicely. But the rest o' the band weren't too happy with the smell. Or the smoke . . . .


"I am not a man. I am a free number"

"[Linked Image]"
Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: peterws] #2765324
09/13/18 07:38 PM
09/13/18 07:38 PM
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 3,713
Southwestern Ontario
P
prout Offline
3000 Post Club Member
prout  Offline
3000 Post Club Member
P
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 3,713
Southwestern Ontario
Most countries legislated in 2013 a maximum of 1/2 Watt continous consumption for devices running in standby. I currently have 27 devices that could run 24 hours a day in my house. At 1/2 Watt, that is 118.26 kWH a year. If only two billion people have the same, that requires 27,000 megawatts of continuous generating capacity for us assholes who are unwilling to get off our asses and press a real switch.

I use power bars to shut everything down, except a few clocks.

Last edited by prout; 09/13/18 07:39 PM.
Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: prout] #2765328
09/13/18 08:09 PM
09/13/18 08:09 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 6,582
North Carolina
MacMacMac Offline
6000 Post Club Member
MacMacMac  Offline
6000 Post Club Member
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 6,582
North Carolina
In other words ... a totally trivial amount of power. Just a few hundred thousand dollars spread over two billion consumers. Really trivial.
Originally Posted by prout
Most countries legislated in 2013 a maximum of 1/2 Watt continuous consumption for devices running in standby. I currently have 27 devices that could run 24 hours a day in my house. At 1/2 Watt, that is 118.26 kWH a year. If only two billion people have the same, that requires 27,000 megawatts of continuous generating capacity for us assholes who are unwilling to get off our asses and press a real switch.
Conservation makes sense, but small conservation is a joke. It's as though there's an elephant in the room, and they want us to pay attention to a grasshopper.

I replaced 100 W incandescent lamps with 23 W compact fluorescent ones years ago. Big savings.
Now I use 7 W LED lamps. More savings.

But to worry about 0.5 W of standby power? How do you spell pfththththpf?

Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: peterws] #2765386
09/14/18 05:27 AM
09/14/18 05:27 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 6,370
Vught, The Netherlands
Dave Horne Offline
6000 Post Club Member
Dave Horne  Offline
6000 Post Club Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 6,370
Vught, The Netherlands
It is a little unseemly for Americans to dismiss saving energy even if it's a small amount. Sorry, Mac.

Americans represent five percent of the planet's population and consume 24 percent of its energy. smile


Last edited by Dave Horne; 09/14/18 05:28 AM.

website | mp3 files | Yamaha AvantGrand N3 | Roland RD 2000 | Sennheiser HD 598 headphones
Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: MacMacMac] #2765428
09/14/18 10:23 AM
09/14/18 10:23 AM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,537
Portugal
T
toddy Offline
3000 Post Club Member
toddy  Offline
3000 Post Club Member
T
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,537
Portugal
Originally Posted by MacMacMac

But to worry about 0.5 W of standby power? How do you spell pfththththpf?


Half a watt is quite a lot. You could have 20 such things in your house - that's 10 watts all the time they're doing nothing. Prout illustrated what that means on a regional or national scale. I'd have thought standby functions should be able to function on a fraction of that. Though don't ask me how, from an engineering point of view smile ....or just get up and switch stuff off - reduce obesity.


Roland HP 302 / Samson Graphite 49 / Akai EWI

Reaper / Native Instruments K9 ult / ESQL MOR2 Symph Orchestra & Choirs / Lucato & Parravicini , trumpets & saxes / Garritan CFX lite / Production Voices C7 & Steinway D compact

Focusrite Saffire 24 / W7, i7 4770, 16GB / MXL V67g / Yamaha HS7s / HD598
Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: Dave Horne] #2765435
09/14/18 10:48 AM
09/14/18 10:48 AM
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 7,079
Northern England.
peterws Offline OP
7000 Post Club Member
peterws  Offline OP
7000 Post Club Member
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 7,079
Northern England.
Originally Posted by Dave Horne
It is a little unseemly for Americans to dismiss saving energy even if it's a small amount. Sorry, Mac.

Americans represent five percent of the planet's population and consume 24 percent of its energy. smile



Then it would seem that a radical solution is needed . . . . .


"I am not a man. I am a free number"

"[Linked Image]"
Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: peterws] #2765441
09/14/18 11:25 AM
09/14/18 11:25 AM
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,289
UK
A
Alexander Borro Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Alexander Borro  Offline
1000 Post Club Member
A
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,289
UK
... and now look what you did Peter with this thread, what's next on the list ... climate change ? laugh

... but in all seriousness, a thread like this is quite useful to be reminded, I admit in my case it became pure habit. The KRKs are behind the piano, I always switch those off after use , since they don't get used as often, I use headphones most days.

I have focals also (with autostandby build in) which are my music listening desktop speakers these days and they do get used most days. I never bother switching those off, I just let the auto standby do its thing, ... but ... from here on out I'll switch them off at the end of the day. The switches are easy enough to reach. As I said, it was just habit, so thanks for the reminder. I do it with everything else so ... for good measure since it does add over time. smile


Selftaught since June 2014.
Books: Barratt classic piano course bk 1,2,3. Humphries Piano handbook, various...
Kawai CA78, Casio AP450 & software pianos.
[Linked Image] 12x ABF recitals.
My struggles: https://soundcloud.com/alexander-borro
Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: peterws] #2765444
09/14/18 11:28 AM
09/14/18 11:28 AM
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 3,713
Southwestern Ontario
P
prout Offline
3000 Post Club Member
prout  Offline
3000 Post Club Member
P
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 3,713
Southwestern Ontario
Well Mac, when your power goes out with Florence, even you will be contributing to a reduction in greenhouse gases.

I hope you are fairing well. That is one bad-ass storm.

Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: Dave Horne] #2765449
09/14/18 11:39 AM
09/14/18 11:39 AM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 6,582
North Carolina
MacMacMac Offline
6000 Post Club Member
MacMacMac  Offline
6000 Post Club Member
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 6,582
North Carolina
We're very energetic! smile
Originally Posted by Dave Horne
It is a little unseemly for Americans to dismiss saving energy even if it's a small amount. Sorry, Mac.
Americans represent five percent of the planet's population and consume 24 percent of its energy. smile
Anyway, wikipedia shows that the overwhelming winner of the electric consumption race is ... industry. This holds across all industrialized nations.

So per capita consumption is deceptive. Consumption per unit of industrial output would be more meaningful.

The notion that 5% of the world's population consumes 24% of the energy (where did those figures come from?) implies that their industrial output is around five times the world average.

This is called winning. (But one ought never rest on one's laurels. China is on hot on our heels.)

Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: Alexander Borro] #2765454
09/14/18 11:46 AM
09/14/18 11:46 AM
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 7,079
Northern England.
peterws Offline OP
7000 Post Club Member
peterws  Offline OP
7000 Post Club Member
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 7,079
Northern England.
Originally Posted by Alexander Borro
... and now look what you did Peter with this thread, what's next on the list ... climate change ? laugh

... but in all seriousness, a thread like this is quite useful to be reminded, I admit in my case it became pure habit. The KRKs are behind the piano, I always switch those off after use , since they don't get used as often, I use headphones most days.

I have focals also (with autostandby build in) which are my music listening desktop speakers these days and they do get used most days. I never bother switching those off, I just let the auto standby do its thing, ... but ... from here on out I'll switch them off at the end of the day. The switches are easy enough to reach. As I said, it was just habit, so thanks for the reminder. I do it with everything else so ... for good measure since it does add over time. smile


Funny you mentioned this. I find that I will have to switch the bluddy things off if I want to use headphones . . . .because when they stand by, one note from the piano should set 'em off again. Dunno what i was thinking about. It wasn't climate change . . .
So i cancelled the order.


"I am not a man. I am a free number"

"[Linked Image]"
Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: MacMacMac] #2765459
09/14/18 11:54 AM
09/14/18 11:54 AM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,537
Portugal
T
toddy Offline
3000 Post Club Member
toddy  Offline
3000 Post Club Member
T
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,537
Portugal
Originally Posted by MacMacMac
We're very energetic! smile
Originally Posted by Dave Horne
It is a little unseemly for Americans to dismiss saving energy even if it's a small amount. Sorry, Mac.
Americans represent five percent of the planet's population and consume 24 percent of its energy. smile
Anyway, wikipedia shows that the overwhelming winner of the electric consumption race is ... industry. This holds across all industrialized nations.

So per capita consumption is deceptive. Consumption per unit of industrial output would be more meaningful.

The notion that 5% of the world's population consumes 24% of the energy (where did those figures come from?) implies that their industrial output is around five times the world average.

This is called winning. (But one ought never rest on one's laurels. China is on hot on our heels.)


Surely the problem is not industrial production, but end-user consumption. So it's not who is making the stuff that's the problem, it's the ones who are consuming the products, so on the contrary, looking at the problem from a consumption driven point of view: China, clean and lean, USA and Europe, corpulent culprits.


Roland HP 302 / Samson Graphite 49 / Akai EWI

Reaper / Native Instruments K9 ult / ESQL MOR2 Symph Orchestra & Choirs / Lucato & Parravicini , trumpets & saxes / Garritan CFX lite / Production Voices C7 & Steinway D compact

Focusrite Saffire 24 / W7, i7 4770, 16GB / MXL V67g / Yamaha HS7s / HD598
Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: peterws] #2765461
09/14/18 12:03 PM
09/14/18 12:03 PM
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 3,713
Southwestern Ontario
P
prout Offline
3000 Post Club Member
prout  Offline
3000 Post Club Member
P
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 3,713
Southwestern Ontario
So Mac, you do realize that the oceans exist because of individual raindrops, and that people are elected to office by single votes?

Re: Stand-by feature on Monitors [Re: toddy] #2765465
09/14/18 12:28 PM
09/14/18 12:28 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 6,582
North Carolina
MacMacMac Offline
6000 Post Club Member
MacMacMac  Offline
6000 Post Club Member
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 6,582
North Carolina
Nope. It's industry ... though I don't think of it as a problem.
Originally Posted by toddy
Surely the problem is not industrial production, but end-user consumption. So it's not who is making the stuff that's the problem, it's the ones who are consuming the products, so on the contrary, looking at the problem from a consumption driven point of view: China, clean and lean, USA and Europe, corpulent culprits.
Shutting off a standby device ... or shutting down ALL standby devices ... will not reduce industrial consumption at all. Not at all. It's industry usage, not consumer usage.

But China is lean, you say? China is clean?

China's energy consumption is 20% greater than that of the US. That's not lean. (We're not the biggest consumers of power anymore.)
And 78% of their electricity comes from fossil fuel. That's not clean. (Try breathing the air in Beijing.)
So ... replace lean and clean with fat and dirty.

I don't see consolidated figures for Europe. Only country-by-country stats.
But the Netherlands get 81% of its electricity from fossil fuels, more than UK, France, Germany, Ukraine, Sweden, Norway, Belgium, Finland, Russia, or Turkey.
In Europe only Poland is higher, with 89%.
(I don't see stats for Italy, Portugal, Greece, or the former Soviet holdings ... they probably don't fall into the top fifty.)

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Piano World 

New In Our Store!
New In Our Store!
key racks with hand sanitizer
Attn: Piano Teachers, Music Teachers, Studios!

A rack made from actual piano keys, with individual hand sanitizer for each student!
Tons more music related products in our online store!
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Intermediate/ Early-Adanced Jumping Keyboard Exercises?
by MacMorrighan. 09/23/18 11:57 PM
In the market for an upright (just starting)
by Sabin76. 09/23/18 10:14 PM
Yamaha P125 vs P115 ???
by Pianoworldstage. 09/23/18 09:58 PM
Buzzing sound and strange white repair on soundboard
by Swedishnerd. 09/23/18 06:01 PM
Galaxy Vintage D - still has pedaling issues?
by clavichords. 09/23/18 05:10 PM
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq Steingraeber
Forum Statistics
Forums40
Topics187,456
Posts2,747,404
Members91,078
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2018 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1.1