2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
42 members (bwv543, Andre Fadel, Animisha, alexcomoda, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, 10 invisible), 1,172 guests, and 282 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
R
OP Offline
R
Hi all,

I'm a beginner piano teacher who graduated with a BA in Music, and I've been teaching at a small private music school for a while now, but have recently decided to start teaching at my home studio.

The parent of my very first private student asked me if I had a rate for "guided practice" sessions. I've never heard of this before, but I'm more than willing to offer it. What do you think I should charge for these practice sessions? I imagine I'd be teaching the 6 year old good practice habits, reviewing material from previous lessons, speeding up music, working on playing the duets from Alfred's Premiere course more comfortably, etc. The main difference between practice sessions and lessons are that I will not introduce new topics in the method books in practice sessions. For comparison, I charge $50/hr for lessons and $40/45 min lesson. Since these practice sessions have a lot of lesson-based material, I'm thinking $25 an hour and $15 for 30 minutes. Too much? Too little? Just right?

Also, I was asked about Sibling discounts. Any ideas that have worked for anybody?

As for Referral discounts, I told the parent that if she refers me another student, the parent who did the referral would get a discount on their next set of books, and the new student would get a free lesson. Sounds good?

Again, I'm a beginner teacher, so any honest advice helps!