2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
71 members (36251, Bruce Sato, Carey, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, bcalvanese, brdwyguy, amc252, akse0435, 11 invisible), 2,080 guests, and 315 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Tyr Offline OP
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
Hi everyone,

i'm new to software pianos. I plan to buy the CFX Lite version but i have some questions about how to make it work.

My novus will placed at my new home in the living room, far away from my stational PC, so i need a small PC/Laptop. How much power is needed to run a VST?

Is it working with USB to host or is a separate midi card needed? I saw some conversations about latency. Is this a real thing?

Thanks for help. smile

Tyr

Kawai: NV5 | Yamaha: CLP-745R
Pianoteq 7 Pro | Garritan CFX Full | Vienna Imperial | Keyscape Full | Ravenscroft 275 - Modern U - Model D - AG | Minigrand | The Oeser
G
9000 Post Club Member
9000 Post Club Member
G
Originally Posted by Tyr
Hi everyone,

i'm new to software pianos. I plan to buy the CFX Lite version but i have some questions about how to make it work.

My novus will placed at my new home in the living room, far away from my stational PC, so i need a small PC/Laptop. How much power is needed to run a VST?

Is it working with USB to host or is a separate midi card needed? I saw some conversations about latency. Is this a real thing?

Thanks for help. smile

Tyr

I'm running a similar config--CFX Full through the NV-10, with a laptop and headphones. You should be able to use any modern laptop. I would recommend 8GB RAM and an SSD.