2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
62 members (aphexdisklavier, benkeys, 1200s, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, 11 invisible), 1,848 guests, and 265 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
6000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
6000 Post Club Member
I've been seeing a lot of Qobuz ads on my Facebook feed. I have a paid subscription to Spotify and am happy with their service and the size of their library.

I took the following test and scored three out of six. At the very least, I nailed the piano selection though without the comparisons, I would have been happy to listen to the ... inferior format.

https://www.npr.org/sections/therecord/2015/06/02/411473508/how-well-can-you-hear-audio-quality

Yamaha AvantGrand N1X | Roland RD 2000 | Sennheiser HD 598 headphones
7000 Post Club Member
7000 Post Club Member
I've done a lot of tests like that and my result is always at around 50%. Just for clarification, in tests like that a result of 50% means that you don't pass the test at all since even if you clicked randomly you would still get around 50% because that's how probability works smile One should consistently produce high scores like more than 80 or even 90% correct guesses to consider the test as passed.

Last edited by CyberGene; 02/13/18 04:39 PM.

I'm not around. You can find me here
My YouTube, My Soundcloud
Yamaha N1X, Cybrid DIY hybrid controller
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
I don't see how you would score this test.
That web page asks: "For each song, listen to all three samples and choose the one that you think is the highest-quality audio."