2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
Who's Online Now
24 members (Emery Wang, CraiginNZ, Caleb1416, clothearednincompo, Calavera, CyberGene, chopinetto, AprilE, EPW, 4 invisible), 379 guests, and 437 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Garritan CFX + Avant Grand N1 for practice?
#2705543 01/16/18 07:28 PM
K
kiwibd Offline OP
OP Offline
K
Hey guys! I am very new to the digital piano world as I've always been a classical pianist playing acoustic pianos.
I have been considering to buy the Yamaha Avant Grand N1 for daily practice, as its action is probably the most similar to a real grand piano. But the tone of N1 really sounds a bit too much like synthesizers...

I've recently come across videos of people using Garritan CFX VST for their recording and it sounds really realistic to me. But given that the file size of it is soooo huge (130GB) and it can cause latency, is it possible to use it for daily practice?? If yes, do I need to buy a computer with extremely large SSD and RAM to eliminate the latency?

And would the VST make my Yamaha N1 less sensitive? (e.g. less sensitie towards different types of pedalling, articulation, timbre-production, etc.)

If it's not feasible, would you guys suggest any better alternative? (priority: grand piano action)

It would be WONDERFUL to hear from you guys! Thank you!

Last edited by kiwibd; 01/16/18 07:51 PM.
(ad)
Sweetwater Gifts That Rock