2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
39 members (Animisha, alexcomoda, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, 10 invisible), 1,155 guests, and 318 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Chrispy Offline OP
Gold Subscriber
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
Gold Subscriber
1000 Post Club Member
OK, I'll admit it's a bit of a click bait title, but it's something I'm really considering. I've been playing as an adult beginner for just over two years, and I'm absolutely loving piano. I have an previous long background in classical music as a singer (choral, opera, etc.) Both of my kids who also play, though my 10 year old has really just started getting serious about it, and in fact we take lessons with the same teacher. As my teacher is aware of my musical background, we decided to maximize technique, I would teach my son theory. My son also likes me to sit with him during his practice to help keep him focused and aware of what's important for him to work on.

As it turns out, I'm really loving doing this. I've always thought I might do some sort of teaching when I start "retiring" and I'm thinking teaching piano might be a thing I could do. This would probably happen 10-15 years down the road though, as I obviously still have a lot to learn, I'm just a beginner myself. So I have a few questions for teachers, and maybe a reality check smile