2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
37 members (bwv543, Cominut, Colin Miles, Andre Fadel, BWV846, Animisha, alexcomoda, Calavera, 10 invisible), 1,218 guests, and 278 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
D
OP Offline
D
Would it be possible to have a forum just for self-taught pianists? In the other active thread the mantra is "get a teacher" ignoring the fact that some people live in remote areas where there are no teachers, where school kids don't have any music option, and in a climate that in winter often prevents travelling. Also for some people the piano is a sort of therapy but they may be uncomfortable interacting with a person telling them what to do. In such a thread the self-learner would be at ease talking about problems, or successes, and get encouraging responses from fellow self-taught.

Thank you,
Mirliton

R
R
I think it is a great idea. My first issue would be defining, "self-taught." Many people learn things without taking formal lessons but they are, in fact, taught through the passing of information from one generation to the next. That actually defines roots music.

You can learn from youtube videos. I've learned a lot that way. Is that "self-taught"? You make a great point. How do others define "self-taught" piano? I'm interested in the responses.

Richard Goodman
I
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
I
Originally Posted by richardgoodman10