2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (AndyOnThePiano2, APianistHasNoName, AlkansBookcase, Charles Cohen, BillS728, Colin Miles, 36251, 12 invisible), 2,158 guests, and 339 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OP Offline
I'm pretty new to piano. I bought a Juno DS88 a few months ago and a double brace pro-line stand.

I use a computer chair to play since I thought the back rest would be nice. But since the computer chair is so deep, to even reach the back rest, my legs can't touch the floor (the chair has to be at max height to reach the pro-line stands lowest setting.

So, I end up having to just sit at the very edge of this rolling seat, and it's very uncomfortable. I can't really do more than 15 minutes or so before my back aches, and I need to take a break.

I decided I should invest in a proper chair. I went to GC and asked them what they recommend in terms of piano bench. They said that anything will suit me fine since I'm a beginner, but one with cushion is probably best.

However, they also told me that an even better option would be to go for a drum throne. They are shallow, usually height adjustable, have lower back rests, and are pretty comfortable considering how much drummers move around.

So I wanted to ask you guys/gals since I don't see too many forum posts about this.

Do you guys recommend drum thrones for piano? Or is a piano bench usually the better choice?

Thank you for any and all advice! smile