2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
36 members (Charles Cohen, Animisha, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, 9 invisible), 1,130 guests, and 317 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
OP Offline
P
Hi all - this is my first post on Piano World after many months of looking up threads as I researched and looked at various pianos. Thank you all for the collective wisdom!

Just for context, I'm an adult beginner, just starting to really reach into intermediate repertoire. I tend to like Romantic-era pieces. For ex., I'm currently working on a few of the less demanding Chopin Nocturnes. For the past several years I've been playing on a Yamaha Clavinova CLP-280.

Here's my situation:

Currently, I have a (refundable) deposit in on a slightly used Kawai GX2 (ca. 2014) from a local dealer. I still have to schedule the inspection and make a final decision, so it's not a done deal by any means.I think the Kawai is an excellent piano that I could be very happy with, but my one quibble is that I find the tone to be very (struggling for the word here...) 'straightforward'? Not a bad thing, but I don't hear a ton of color or complexity (I realize opinions may differ on this, but that's my impression). As a point of comparison, the same dealer has a small-ish Bechstein set up in the same room and the tone just bursts with all kinds of color (again, to my ear). Sadly a Bechstein (any Bechstein) is not in the conversation...