2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
73 members (AlkansBookcase, bcalvanese, 36251, brdwyguy, amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, Burkhard, 16 invisible), 2,121 guests, and 307 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
J
OP Offline
J
Hello from Greece,

I got my piano diploma more than 5 years ago and i am doing research on upgrading my piano.

My primary budget was about 4k but i am open to something more expensive if extraordinary.

In general, i do not like the tone of Yamaha (used or new) - seems too bright for me. So i am looking to buy an upright piano with a more "European" sound (used or new). Please be advised that i intend to play 90% classical music on the piano.

I have played on numerous pianos (Yamaha U1/U3 used and new, G2 used, Young Chang baby grand used, Petrof upright new, Kawai K3, Tokai used and new).

The only piano i really enjoyed was W. Hoffman V-120 upright which here in Greece is sold exactly at 7,800 euro. Also, i found that a 30 year old Schimmel upright (116) had good quality sound but not such depth.

Also, the upright Essex 123 sounded OK - price about 6,000 euro. (To have a sense of the prices of new pianos here in Greece keep note that a U1 costs 9,000 euro, Schimmel 10,000 euro, Petrof 9,000 euro, Kawai K3 5,600 euro).

Having shared the above, i would appreciate if you suggested other piano brands (used or new) that i should focus on or whether the budget is insufficient to support the sound i pursue.

Kind regards,

John

Last edited by john1987; 07/20/17 02:25 PM.
J
Unobtanium Subscriber
6000 Post Club Member
Unobtanium Subscriber