2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
37 members (Andre Fadel, BWV846, Animisha, alexcomoda, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, 10 invisible), 1,184 guests, and 303 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
#2655334 06/21/17 01:19 PM
cmb13 Offline OP
Silver Level
3000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
Silver Level
3000 Post Club Member
I've had a rough week and feel like this might be a good opportunity to discuss some concerns. I've been playing for about 4 years, with a one year hiatus for a move, so a total of about three I suppose. With the help of a teacher, I did the Alfred's book 1 the first year, then worked on some Hanon and started playing jazz from lead sheets. From there, I began learning scales in all major keys, then all major, minor, and 7th chords and major arpeggio's. I have used this for work on lead sheets. I decided to try the first movement of Moonlight Sonata, and while it took a while (maybe I wasn't ready), I can now play it fairly well. From here I moved on to some of the shorter Chopin preludes and some Cherny exercises.

The problem, as I've expressed in threads in the past, is that I feel my sheet music reading is lacking. I tend to memorize the pieces I'm playing, not intentionally, but it just happens through repetition. This has allowed me to look down, which has prevented me from progressing to where I can play well without looking at my hands while limiting my sight reading.