2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
50 members (Bostonmoores, 20/20 Vision, Cheeeeee, Adam Reynolds, Burkhard, 1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, busa, 36251, 5 invisible), 1,315 guests, and 298 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
sage789 Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Are there any sources or listings of pop music piano scores by "grade level" like there are for classical pieces? Not 'cheat book' type pieces, but songs that are very piano-centric, like Elton John, Billy Joel, Norah Jones, Coldplay, etc? I think I'm an advanced beginner and would like to take on pieces that are challenging, but not impossible to learn. TIA.

S
PW Gold Subscriber
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
PW Gold Subscriber
S
I've never seen one compilation of Grade level for pop.. however, each of the vendors assigns what they consider the grade level, and then an explanation of what is involved.

For instance, sheetmusicplus has a compilation of Elton John they grade as a 7 (late intermediate) http://www.sheetmusicplus.com/search?Ntt=elton+john
and the explanation of the grade level is found here:
http://www.sheetmusicplus.com/help/level-guidelines

You might use the 'preview function on websites such as musicnotes.com, where you can hear and see the first page.

S
sage789 Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Thanks. Very helpful. I wish sheetmusicplus put their SMP grades on more (all) of their offerings.

S
PW Gold Subscriber
PW Gold Subscriber
S
Originally Posted by sage789
Thanks. Very helpful. I wish sheetmusicplus put their SMP grades on more (all) of their offerings.