2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
80 members (accordeur, AndrewJCW, ambrozy, Beansparrow, beeboss, 36251, 28 invisible), 513 guests, and 554 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Theory & Technique for someone returning to the piano
#2650352 06/04/17 01:28 PM
B
OP Offline
B
Hey All:

A bit of background: I started playing piano at Age 9 with a lovely piano teacher that I stayed with until I was almost 19 and moved across the US to go to college, so I had about 10 years instruction with the same teacher. She was wonderful, but I fear I was not so wonderful. I definitely became more passionate towards the last year or so of my instruction, and made it to about level 6-7 early advanced level before I left for college. I decided to pursue a music minor for about a month in my freshman year first semester, and a combination of high stress, a 20 hour course load, a terrible piano teacher, and sever anxiety, I decided to quit.

From then on, I only plunked at the piano when I went home for christmas and summer breaks, and even that hardly at all. Almost six years later at almost 25, I've been slowly re-learning the piano and I am at about the same level I used to be before I quit. I'm learning new chopin, schumann, and tchaikovsky at a glacial pace because I don't devote as much time as I'd like.