Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.7 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
What's Hot!!
Mr. PianoWorld - the full interview
-------------------
European Tour for Piano Lovers
JOIN US FOR THE TOUR!
--------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
Find a Professional
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Advertise on Piano World

(ad)
Piano Buyer Guide
Piano Buyer Spring 2018
ad
Pierce Piano Atlas


Who's Online Now
80 registered members (bsntn99, cmb13, Chernobieff Piano, anotherscott, Bruce In Philly, Beowulf, Blues beater, 17 invisible), 1,519 guests, and 6 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Using a Roland FP-30 as a midi controller for a VST #2638444
05/01/17 11:22 AM
05/01/17 11:22 AM
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 196
G
Grazilerimba Offline OP
Full Member
Grazilerimba  Offline OP
Full Member
G

Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 196
Hi,
I'm a beginner when it comes to digital pianos and currently trying to research some information for a purchase in different price ranges. The FP-30 looks good to me so far for a <1000$ light weight stage piano, there is only one thing that I am unsure about. It only has a USB to host connection, not a classic midi port. Can you use this connection to fully use a VST on the computer? I ask because when I googled this, I came across a post that said "It can only transfer note data, however. No CCs."

I am not sure what this means. Doesn't CC also include the pedals, and would I hence not be able to use the pedals when connecting to the computer to use a VST?

Does someone use the FP-30 with a VST and confirm it can be used with all features of the VST? I'd be using it with the stand that includes all three pedals.

(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

Re: Using a Roland FP-30 as a midi controller for a VST [Re: Grazilerimba] #2638448
05/01/17 11:42 AM
05/01/17 11:42 AM
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,281
Groove On Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Groove On  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,281
Yes the FP-30 will work as a MIDI controller. It does send CC data from the foot pedals.

Perhaps they meant that unlike a traditional MIDI controller, it doesn't have a pitch bend or mod wheel which also sends CC data.

I've never needed a USB or MIDI cable since I only use Bluetooth to connect to my laptop and iPad.


We are the music makers,
And we are the dreamers of dreams.
Re: Using a Roland FP-30 as a midi controller for a VST [Re: Grazilerimba] #2638454
05/01/17 11:49 AM
05/01/17 11:49 AM
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 196
G
Grazilerimba Offline OP
Full Member
Grazilerimba  Offline OP
Full Member
G

Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 196
Thank you very much, that is great to know. It felt irritating because it wouldn't make sense for Roland to use a USB port that wouldn't allow full use of VSTs in a fairly new stage piano.

Would this also apply to the internal midi recordings that you can make with the FP-30? According to the specifications on their website, the midi "Conforms to GM2, GS" and you can record a "standard midi file, format 0". Does this also include all the neccessary information required to use this midi on your PC so that you can import it into an audio editing program and use a VST with it? In particular, does it record all note velocities as well as all the pedals with their different pressure values?

Re: Using a Roland FP-30 as a midi controller for a VST [Re: Grazilerimba] #2638466
05/01/17 12:11 PM
05/01/17 12:11 PM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,345
Sweden
TheodorN Offline
2000 Post Club Member
TheodorN  Offline
2000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,345
Sweden
I don't know much about the Roland FP-30, but I'm pretty sure all the modern digital pianos record all the MIDI signals the instrument can send. A relatively simple way to find out, would be, if someone could record a short MIDI file on the FP-30, then play it in Pianoteq, and check if the pedals of the interface go down.

According to Wikipedia, the GS standard contains everything in GM (General MIDI) and more, so the FP-30 should record pedal use, and note velocities, how hard or soft a key is hit.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roland_GS

Last edited by TheodorN; 05/01/17 12:19 PM.

My YouTube channel

Casio PX-5S. Garritan CFX. Prod. Voices: Grand 2 Gold, Concert Grand Compact, Est. Grand, Studio Grand LE. NI Giant. Galaxy II Blüthner Baby Grand. AcousticSamples C7. AK Studio Grand. Sampletekk Black. Kontakt 5. Reaper.
(ad) SWEETWATER
Sweetwater 1000s of deals on Gear
Re: Using a Roland FP-30 as a midi controller for a VST [Re: Grazilerimba] #2638472
05/01/17 12:21 PM
05/01/17 12:21 PM
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 196
G
Grazilerimba Offline OP
Full Member
Grazilerimba  Offline OP
Full Member
G

Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 196
Thank you for the information. All of this stuff can be intimidating for a beginner. So if anyone else has some more info to contribute, I'd appreciate it. But for now it seems like this piano is really good for the price range. I'll try to find a store that has it and see how it feels like to play on it. Thanks.

Re: Using a Roland FP-30 as a midi controller for a VST [Re: Grazilerimba] #2638491
05/01/17 01:09 PM
05/01/17 01:09 PM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,345
Sweden
TheodorN Offline
2000 Post Club Member
TheodorN  Offline
2000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,345
Sweden
These videos have been very helpful for me.

https://www.youtube.com/user/MusicRepoCom/videos

Look for videos with the words Connect your Keyboard in the title. She explains just about everything, there is to recording a digital piano, and in a language that is easy to understand.

What the functions of the various connections on the back, are, difference between MIDI and audio, how to record through an audio interface, and how to record to Audacity, just to name a few subjects.


My YouTube channel

Casio PX-5S. Garritan CFX. Prod. Voices: Grand 2 Gold, Concert Grand Compact, Est. Grand, Studio Grand LE. NI Giant. Galaxy II Blüthner Baby Grand. AcousticSamples C7. AK Studio Grand. Sampletekk Black. Kontakt 5. Reaper.
Re: Using a Roland FP-30 as a midi controller for a VST [Re: TheodorN] #2638556
05/01/17 03:18 PM
05/01/17 03:18 PM
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,683
France
Frédéric L Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Frédéric L  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,683
France
According to the spec sheet, the FP30 has 35 sounds... far lower than the GM set. They only say that the sounds conform to the GS/GM which mean than when they choose the numbers of them they use the standard scheme and not a fancy way of coding.

Sending pedals and velocity is described by a very well applied standard. You shouldn't have any problem about it. However, not all keyboards have the same response (and generally you can change it on the keyboard and many virtual instruments have a setting to tune the response). The pedal can change : some are on/off, some are continuous, mine has 7 steps.

Back to the FP30 : you have the FP30 MIDI implementation chart : https://static.roland.com/assets/media/pdf/FP-30_MIDI_Imple_e01_W.pdf p9 you have what it sends. It sends even note-off velocities.

Last edited by Frédéric L; 05/01/17 03:27 PM.

Yamaha CLP150, Bechstein Digital Grand, Garritan CFX, Ivory II pianos, Galaxy pianos, EWQL Pianos, Native-Instrument The Definitive Piano Collection, Soniccouture Hammersmith, Truekeys, Pianoteq
Re: Using a Roland FP-30 as a midi controller for a VST [Re: TheodorN] #2638585
05/01/17 04:05 PM
05/01/17 04:05 PM
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 196
G
Grazilerimba Offline OP
Full Member
Grazilerimba  Offline OP
Full Member
G

Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 196
Ugh, 38 pages for the MIDI specifications? How long did you need/How much experience do you have, until you could make sense of what's written in that document? Impressive and intimidating. So I take it that it sends and records everything I need. Thanks for taking the time to link the document and comment here.

Re: Using a Roland FP-30 as a midi controller for a VST [Re: Grazilerimba] #2638592
05/01/17 04:22 PM
05/01/17 04:22 PM
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,683
France
Frédéric L Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Frédéric L  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,683
France
38 pages because it can interpret many MIDI events. But the page 9 about what it can send is just a single page.


Yamaha CLP150, Bechstein Digital Grand, Garritan CFX, Ivory II pianos, Galaxy pianos, EWQL Pianos, Native-Instrument The Definitive Piano Collection, Soniccouture Hammersmith, Truekeys, Pianoteq
Re: Using a Roland FP-30 as a midi controller for a VST [Re: Grazilerimba] #2638751
05/02/17 03:06 AM
05/02/17 03:06 AM
Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
M
MoChY Offline
Junior Member
MoChY  Offline
Junior Member
M

Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
First of all, sorry for my bad English

I have an FP-30, and yes, you can use the piano like vst via midi-usb with velocity.
The pedal that includes works very well, and the three pedals on KPD-70, works perfectly, because recognite midi signals. (Note: sustain pedal KDP-70 works half-sustain, it's possible that you may configure it on vst, but on native integrated piano sounds, works well).
With synthesia works good too, and many instruments play on piano-speakers to reproduce them.
Midi out work, but I don't know exactly, because depend how, the piano sound it's different, maybe are only midi.
I try midi effects, ethnic...like Applause, sitar, banjo without problems.

My conclusion: three pedals, velocity, and midi tested with good results.

Re: Using a Roland FP-30 as a midi controller for a VST [Re: Grazilerimba] #2638774
05/02/17 05:55 AM
05/02/17 05:55 AM
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 58
L
Lam Offline
Full Member
Lam  Offline
Full Member
L

Joined: May 2016
Posts: 58
I'm also a FP30 +pianoteq owner, you will be glad it has continuous pedal as well

Re: Using a Roland FP-30 as a midi controller for a VST [Re: MoChY] #2638997
05/02/17 03:19 PM
05/02/17 03:19 PM
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,683
France
Frédéric L Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Frédéric L  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,683
France
Originally Posted by MoChY
With synthesia works good too, and many instruments play on piano-speakers to reproduce them.
Midi out work, but I don't know exactly, because depend how, the piano sound it's different, maybe are only midi.
I try midi effects, ethnic...like Applause, sitar, banjo without problems.


Are the Applause, sitar... comes from the piano speakers ? They are not included in the FP30 MIDI implementation chart (see p 37). If this is Midi out... they should be played by the PC, and you can have whatever you want (thousands of DX7 sounds with dexed by example). A "only midi" sound doesn't mean anything. MIDI devices could be as low-fi as a 256 GM2 bank packed in 3MB (the Windows "native" sounds), and as high-end as a CFX-Disklavier (you may prefer the Bösendorfer CEUS...). If the PC play the sound, the sound will be different from the FP30.


Yamaha CLP150, Bechstein Digital Grand, Garritan CFX, Ivory II pianos, Galaxy pianos, EWQL Pianos, Native-Instrument The Definitive Piano Collection, Soniccouture Hammersmith, Truekeys, Pianoteq
Re: Using a Roland FP-30 as a midi controller for a VST [Re: Frédéric L] #2640078
05/05/17 02:52 AM
05/05/17 02:52 AM
Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
M
MoChY Offline
Junior Member
MoChY  Offline
Junior Member
M

Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
Originally Posted by Frédéric L
Originally Posted by MoChY
With synthesia works good too, and many instruments play on piano-speakers to reproduce them.
Midi out work, but I don't know exactly, because depend how, the piano sound it's different, maybe are only midi.
I try midi effects, ethnic...like Applause, sitar, banjo without problems.


Are the Applause, sitar... comes from the piano speakers ? They are not included in the FP30 MIDI implementation chart (see p 37). If this is Midi out... they should be played by the PC, and you can have whatever you want (thousands of DX7 sounds with dexed by example). A "only midi" sound doesn't mean anything. MIDI devices could be as low-fi as a 256 GM2 bank packed in 3MB (the Windows "native" sounds), and as high-end as a CFX-Disklavier (you may prefer the Bösendorfer CEUS...). If the PC play the sound, the sound will be different from the FP30.


Yes, all sounds is from piano speakers.
But as you say, now I understand more thanks to you for some wrong information that I had. I apreciate your information.

I always thought: midi are only signal to send to pc, or piano, but these signals could change a bit on configuration piano to change the sound with function that include on piano.

I use midi out plugin from fl-studio, and have patchs from 1 to 100+ (I don't remember exactly), but yes, they have banks to select too.
I desactivate local sound on piano, and make a loop recording for make secuence on midi piano for example because inconvenient on fp-30...the lack off aux in to sound all vst throught piano-speakers.
I used alicia keys, and now garritan cfx.
Other sounds like strings: alpine project grin

Last edited by MoChY; 05/05/17 02:57 AM. Reason: Quote message
Re: Using a Roland FP-30 as a midi controller for a VST [Re: Grazilerimba] #2640188
05/05/17 08:12 AM
05/05/17 08:12 AM
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,683
France
Frédéric L Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Frédéric L  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,683
France
The MIDI events are only like note A4, velocity 75, program 1, bank 121... it is up to the receiver to get render these command in its own way.

There are guidelines : a General MIDI device consider program 1 = piano... but the MIDI standard doesn't come with a set of samples to make sure that all "program 1" are identical.


Yamaha CLP150, Bechstein Digital Grand, Garritan CFX, Ivory II pianos, Galaxy pianos, EWQL Pianos, Native-Instrument The Definitive Piano Collection, Soniccouture Hammersmith, Truekeys, Pianoteq

Moderated by  Piano World 

(ad)
Sweetwater - Keyboards
Sweetwater
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Of speakers and watts
by mydp. 11/13/18 05:35 PM
altered chords and chord progressions
by Jitin. 11/13/18 12:26 PM
Ornette Coleman's "Lonely Woman"
by KenBakerMN. 11/13/18 08:54 AM
Crackling noise when recording digital piano
by Tommm777. 11/13/18 01:01 AM
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq Petrof
Forum Statistics
Forums40
Topics188,318
Posts2,760,801
Members91,484
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Please Support Our Advertisers
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver

Sweetwater

PianoTeq Petrof
Piano Buyer Spring 2018
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2018 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.2