2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
27 members (Burkhard, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, cmoody31, dh371, 20/20 Vision, admodios, clothearednincompo, 6 invisible), 1,217 guests, and 325 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
G
OP Offline
G
Hi,
I'm a beginner when it comes to digital pianos and currently trying to research some information for a purchase in different price ranges. The FP-30 looks good to me so far for a <1000$ light weight stage piano, there is only one thing that I am unsure about. It only has a USB to host connection, not a classic midi port. Can you use this connection to fully use a VST on the computer? I ask because when I googled this, I came across a post that said "It can only transfer note data, however. No CCs."

I am not sure what this means. Doesn't CC also include the pedals, and would I hence not be able to use the pedals when connecting to the computer to use a VST?

Does someone use the FP-30 with a VST and confirm it can be used with all features of the VST? I'd be using it with the stand that includes all three pedals.

1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
Yes the FP-30 will work as a MIDI controller. It does send CC data from the foot pedals.

Perhaps they meant that unlike a traditional MIDI controller, it doesn't have a pitch bend or mod wheel which also sends CC data.

I've never needed a USB or MIDI cable since I only use Bluetooth to connect to my laptop and iPad.

We are the music makers,
And we are the dreamers of dreams.
G
OP Offline
G