2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
64 members (Animisha, Barly, bobrunyan, brennbaer, 1200s, 36251, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, anotherscott, 8 invisible), 1,795 guests, and 315 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
N
novos Offline OP
OP Offline
N
Hello there,

I'm a conservatorium graduate, been studying to play for 11 years, in a so so level. Haven't played much in the last 7 years but i attend to come back to this, this summer.

I'm a student so i'm not sure where i'll live in the years to come, so i haven't decided which is better for me, the portable versions or like an upright piano version.

I only play classical music, I might try jazz somewhere in future.

I haven't tried any digital piano yet, but from the internet research i've made, i'm pretty much down to 2 models: Yamaha YDP-163 or Casio AP-460.

Basically the things that are important to me the most are the sound (of course, to be resembled as a piano and not electric one), and the touch, or so to say- the action.

I have no experience with them and this is only based on online research.

Just wanted to know what were your thoughts about them, and whether if there were models that would come out soon, so the prices of the above mentioned models will go down, since i'll buy it in about 2 months.

Thanks!

1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
When first venturing out to try digital pianos I had the casio AP line in mind due to price but 5 minutes spent at one changed my mind.
The action resembled a very low end acoustic upright, the sound was tinny and unconvincing to me sorry to say.