2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
69 members (Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, brennbaer, accordeur, antune, anotherscott, benkeys, 10 invisible), 1,724 guests, and 307 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
C
OP Offline
C
I know this is a dumb nooby question and everyone should know but I don't know and I am still a noob.

Basically when you play a piece (the piece I play have big jumps) how do you know what C, G, Fb, and B etc etc etc to hit on the keyboard? Where does it say on the sheet music that you need to play this C on x y z?

Typed on iPhone

M
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
M
Each line or space on the staff (or above/below the staff) refers to a specific key on the piano. So technically, there is a specific line or space in sheet music that refers to each and every key on the piano:

[Linked Image]

Practically, speaking, however, reading 7-8 ledger lines (those are lines that go above or below a staff to extend it) is problematic. Some there are "shortcuts" like using the "8va" or "15ma" signs for playing the written notes an octave or two octaves higher (if written above the note) or lower (if written below the note).

[Linked Image]

private piano/voice teacher FT

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
M
M
Note: I couldn't find a diagram that showed all of the notes on the staff that the piano can play.

private piano/voice teacher FT

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
J
Unobtanium Subscriber
6000 Post Club Member
Unobtanium Subscriber
6000 Post Club Member
J