2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (benkeys, 1200s, aphexdisklavier, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, 10 invisible), 1,847 guests, and 273 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
L
OP Offline
L
Hey there, I've done about a year, maybe less than that, of piano classes, but Im studying on my own by now. The last piece I've learned was the three movements of Clementi's Op.36 no.1. I also learned some Bach minuets, which I enjoyed pretty much.
My question is, what should I be practicing? More sonatinas? Can I move to more advanced pieces, like Bach's Invention 1 or 2? Should I play Beethoven, Chopin? (Chopin's my favorite composer so far, so is it too early to start playing some of his music? What are the easiest ones?) I'm also working on my scales and arpeggios, as my teacher had suggested. Should I work in something more, like Czerny's studies or something like that?
Anyway, now's kind of the second year of my piano studying so yeah, I'm just asking for some repertoire and practice advice.
Thanks by now.

Last edited by Lucosgloves; 03/16/17 01:14 AM.
O
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
O
I would advice against Chopin without a teacher. His music needs special techniques and those are difficult to get right on your own. And the same goes for much romantic era music. Baroque and easier classical (most Beethoven does not fit into this) is safer... You may ruin the music but at least not your hands. Studies and finger exercises can also be overdone so repertoire is better for self teaching imo.

Last edited by outo; 03/16/17 01:27 AM.
M