2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
57 members (Adam Reynolds, Carey, brdwyguy, beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, Dalem01, 10 invisible), 1,869 guests, and 291 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
D
Dscally Offline OP
OP Offline
D
Hello everyone

I'm a Berlin-based journalist, hunting for a new piano in the last months and fascinated by everything I've learned here -- and on PianoBuyer -- about the piano market today.

So fascinated, in fact, that I'm preparing an article for my newspaper. Given that you are all such a knowledgeable (and opinionated!) bunch, I thought I would use my first post to ask for your views -- with a view to incorporating them into my article for the "Irish Times". I hope I'm not breaking any forum rules by doing so.

1. How do you view the globalisation of the piano market that appears to be gathering pace? Inevitable or worrying? Given how we all agree that a piano is so much more than other products - a smartphone, a car - why, then, do you think globalisation has not given it a wider berth?

2. When you read of the latest Chinese takeover - of Schimmel -- is your reaction sentimental or pragmatic? Is this simply the way of the world, or is globalisation squeezing piano-making out of its European birthplace at a cultural cost. Or is that an outdated concept in this globalised age?

3. Is it inevitable that Chinese companies -- with European brand names, parts and know-how -- will sooner or later eventually be able to build a piano of similar quality to a high-end/mid-market European/US piano? (Perhaps you feel they are already doing this?)