2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
Who's Online Now
58 members (accordeur, Chrispy, 36251, anotherscott, c++, andredatele, 19 invisible), 456 guests, and 503 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Getting started with Jazz
#2614921 02/16/17 12:21 AM
Y
OP Offline
Y
Hi all, a little background I'm a fairly decent pianist however I'm completely clueless when it comes to "jazz" I know some harmonies and chords etc and have a decent ear but still I don't know where to start with learning standards etc for instance accompanying the melody in jazz. Usually what I play would be stylistically wrong. I've heard of certain books like "The Jazz Piano Book" but basically I just need kind of step by step advice on what to do with actually learning the standards. My goal is to be able to play Solo jazz piano in like bars and hotels and stuff like that. Stylistically I like ballade-y lounge type stuff haha. I hope someone can help.

Regards

YN

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
Re: Getting started with Jazz
YoungNoir #2614934 02/16/17 01:25 AM
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
Tim Richards' books: Improvising Blues Piano and succesor Exploring jazz Piano
Very clearly explained and nice to read!

Also watch some Bill Hilton youtube tutorial video's - very well explained.

YoungNoir #2615043 02/16/17 10:32 AM
D
dmd Offline
5000 Post Club Member
5000 Post Club Member
D