2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
60 members (brdwyguy, Carey, beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, Dalem01, CharlesXX, 11 invisible), 1,892 guests, and 291 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
OP Offline
P
https://youtu.be/xTmCVFEQkH0

I'm new to piano and bought my first used grand. In the video above, after I release the key, the damper falls and you can hear a clicking noise (you'll need to turn up the volume). Is this normal? I hear this at my piano teacher's place as well, but his was much quieter and barely noticeable. My sister's upright didn't make as much noise as mine either. Mine is loud enough that it's distracting. When I play very loudly, it's not as much a concern since the music drowns out the clicks. But when I play at moderate loudness, it's noticeable. Thank you in advance for your response.

M
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
M
That is way too loud. Get a tech in to trouble shoot. If there isn't one in your area, PM me and we can Skype.

M
M
Sounds like the hammer rest rail needs tightening.

P
OP Offline
P
I pulled out the action (my very first time doing it). Good news: the piano didn't blow up. Bad news: it's still making the same sound. I tightened all of the screws for the hammer rail; it didn't need much tightening, only about 1/16 of a turn each. Still making the same clicking noise. Below is the new video of hammer with the action pulled out (make sure you turn your volume way up). What do you guys make of it?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sWiGi8kYRAg

M
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
M