2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
50 members (Bruce Sato, APianistHasNoName, BillS728, bcalvanese, anotherscott, AlkansBookcase, Carey, CharlesXX, 10 invisible), 1,784 guests, and 302 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
L
lxt Offline OP
OP Offline
L
Hello! I've been a frequent visitor of this website because it seems like there are many knowledgeable people here!! So I created this account to ask for help! :-( I need help with choosing a piano. frown The thing is... I've been using a Young Chang PE-121 for 7 years and i've reached a point where I feel that the piano is limiting me because it's too light, too loud, doesn't have a wide dynamic range.

My teacher has advised me to get a new piano, preferably a grand. The problem is that my house is kinda small and the biggest baby grand i can get is probably a C2X.
However, I don't think my parents will be willing to spend on a C2X so I only have the YUS5 and C1X to choose from.

Yamaha's having a year-end promotion and is selling the C1X for $25,499 and YUS5 for $12,999. Among the other uprights, I found the YUS5 upright piano to be the most similar to a grand although there are some subtle difference in touch and a huge difference in sound (duh). I prefer the action and the sound of the C1X to the YUS5 but I'm not sure whether the C1X is worth the money... frown
IT'S A $12,500 DIFFERENCE. frown

Also, this will be the first and last time I'm changing a piano so the next piano i get gotta be good enough to last me through all my diplomas and possibly even further.