2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
65 members (AndyOnThePiano2, BillS728, 36251, anotherscott, Bellyman, brennbaer, busa, 11 invisible), 2,112 guests, and 306 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
DanS Offline OP
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
D
The title says it all. How often should one have tuning lessons? I've been studying aural tuning with a local RPT for several months. He's very busy and only has time to fit me in every 4 or 5 weeks. I'm slowly getting better, but it's very slow going.

Thoughts?

G
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
G
Good job, keep practicing. It takes a long time to get your skills up to the point where you can pass the PTG exam.
I love to hear people working on aural tuning.
There are ways to supplement. You can buy the PACE tuning lesson plan from the PTG store.
Check out Sierra Software Services, Tremaine Parsons has some cool stuff to help with learning.
If you have a piano, maybe you and your tutor can put a quality tuning on it, record it on ETD and tune aurally and have a way to score yourself.
Spend lots of time tuning solid unisons.
Learn how to set the tuning pin so it will hold up to hard playing and last for a good length of time.
Learn about equalizing string tension between string terminations.
Learn good hammer technique.
Loads of stuff you can do on your own.
Do you have a tuning fork or other pitch source?
Learn how to use it to set A4.
Get the Coleman Beat Locator, it will help you learn how to focus your hearing on coincident partials that you need to hear when tuning intervals.