Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.5 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!


SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Virtual Sheet Music
Download Sheet Music Instantly
Virtual Sheet Music - Classical Sheet Music Downloads
Sheet Music...
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
(125ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Modern Piano Moving
Modern Piano Moving
(ad)
Piano Buyer Guide
Piano Buyer Spring 2017
(ad)
Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restorations and sales
Who's Online Now
57 registered members (7uturu, amad23, 5/1/19249, agraffe, 12 invisible), 1,373 guests, and 5 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#2558260 - 07/23/16 07:29 PM A couple of issues re Pianoteq  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,171
peterws Offline
6000 Post Club Member
peterws  Offline
6000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,171
Northern England.
And my old Vista Lappie.

1) connecting the usb cable to the computer, fine. Have to use an adaptor since the FP50 has only the two midi outputs. But when the audio lead feeding it to the computer headphone socket is connected to the audio in of thepiano, I get this ticking sound whether Pianoteq is running or not. Never happened on my previous Yamaha.

2) Adjusting the speed of the action (fast produces no discerable latency) alters the tonal quality, and indeed displays a softer velocity curve on that setting.

3) The software piano sometimes will produce a rogue note when I least expect it. Now this is whilst running PT 5.3 and above. PT 4.5 doesnt display this last point perhaps cos it utilises less resources.

Maybe I just need a better laptop. . .


"I am not a man. I am a free number"

"[Linked Image]"
(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

#2558273 - 07/23/16 08:44 PM Re: A couple of issues re Pianoteq [Re: peterws]  
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 252
MossySF Offline
Full Member
MossySF  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 252
For a slower laptop, you'll have to drop Pianoteq settings to use fewer resources (sample rate, etc).

You can also do a cleanup to see if you have any ugly software hogging up too much CPU on your laptop.

And you using ASIO drivers right?

#2558315 - 07/24/16 03:56 AM Re: A couple of issues re Pianoteq [Re: peterws]  
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,591
Charles Cohen Offline
3000 Post Club Member
Charles Cohen  Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,591
Richmond, BC, Canada
Quote
2) Adjusting the speed of the action (fast produces no discerable latency) alters the tonal quality, and indeed displays a softer velocity curve on that setting.


"Speed of the action" ?

In the FP-50 specs, I see "Key Touch: 5 levels, plus Fixed".

That choice (on the FP-50) _should not_ affect the Pianoteq velocity curve. At least, I don't _think_ it should . . .

. . . What, exactly, are you changing, where?

Thanks --


. Charles
---------------------------
PX-350 / microKorg XL+ / Pianoteq / Lounge Lizard / Korg Wavedrum / EV ZXA1 speaker
#2558317 - 07/24/16 04:30 AM Re: A couple of issues re Pianoteq [Re: Charles Cohen]  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,171
peterws Offline
6000 Post Club Member
peterws  Offline
6000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,171
Northern England.
Thanks for the responses. The lappy has been rebooted and is clean, performing other stuff well although I use it exclusively for P teq. Asio4all is used.

The action speed can be selected and modified to give greater or less latency, but with tonal ramifications. This is an interesting find, but also time consuming!


"I am not a man. I am a free number"

"[Linked Image]"
(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
#2558458 - 07/24/16 07:59 PM Re: A couple of issues re Pianoteq [Re: peterws]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 12,965
Kawai James Online content
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Kawai James  Online Content
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 12,965
Hamamatsu, Japan
Originally Posted by peterws
The action speed can be selected and modified to give greater or less latency, but with tonal ramifications. This is an interesting find, but also time consuming!


Peter, may I ask which setting you are referring to by "action speed"? Also, I don't believe adjusting the latency should necessarily influence the tone of Pianoteq, should it?

Cheers,
James
x


Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.
#2558679 - 07/25/16 06:08 PM Re: A couple of issues re Pianoteq [Re: Kawai James]  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,171
peterws Offline
6000 Post Club Member
peterws  Offline
6000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,171
Northern England.
Originally Posted by Kawai James
Originally Posted by peterws
The action speed can be selected and modified to give greater or less latency, but with tonal ramifications. This is an interesting find, but also time consuming!


Peter, may I ask which setting you are referring to by "action speed"? Also, I don't believe adjusting the latency should necessarily influence the tone of Pianoteq, should it?

Cheers,
James
x


Pteq display, RH side has a series if button thingies, the first of which throws up the keyboard speed. 4 or 5 settings to choose. Any change here will affect the latency, and also the tone considerably

Fun isnt it? Not. . .


"I am not a man. I am a free number"

"[Linked Image]"
#2558687 - 07/25/16 06:58 PM Re: A couple of issues re Pianoteq [Re: peterws]  
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,174
dmd Offline
3000 Post Club Member
dmd  Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,174
Pennsylvania
Originally Posted by peterws
Pteq display, RH side has a series if button thingies, the first of which throws up the keyboard speed. 4 or 5 settings to choose. Any change here will affect the latency, and also the tone considerably

Fun isnt it? Not. . .


Not sure what you mean by ... "button thingies".

Could you be a bit more specific ?



Don

Current: ES8, ProFX8 Mixer, Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 audio device, SennHeiser HD598 Phones, Focal CMS 40 Powered Monitors, JBL LSR305 Powered Monitors, Pianoteq 5,TruePiano,Ravenscroft275,TrueKeys American,Galaxy Vintage D,Ivory II,Alicia's Keys,CFX Concert Grand, The Grandeur
#2558710 - 07/25/16 08:27 PM Re: A couple of issues re Pianoteq [Re: peterws]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 12,965
Kawai James Online content
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Kawai James  Online Content
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 12,965
Hamamatsu, Japan
Originally Posted by peterws
Pteq display, RH side has a series if button thingies...


These?

[Linked Image]

Originally Posted by peterws
...the first of which throws up the keyboard speed.


Do you mean the 'ACTION' button?

[Linked Image]

Originally Posted by peterws
...4 or 5 settings to choose. Any change here will affect the latency, and also the tone considerably...


The tone may well change, but are you sure about the latency? Maybe the *perceived* speed of the simulated acoustic piano action may be influenced by these parameters, but I believe latency is dependent on other factors.

Kind regards,
James
x


Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.
#2558721 - 07/25/16 09:43 PM Re: A couple of issues re Pianoteq [Re: peterws]  
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 902
emenelton Offline
500 Post Club Member
emenelton  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 902
Originally Posted by peterws
And my old Vista Lappie.

1) connecting the usb cable to the computer, fine. Have to use an adaptor since the FP50 has only the two midi outputs. But when the audio lead feeding it to the computer headphone socket is connected to the audio in of thepiano, I get this ticking sound whether Pianoteq is running or not. Never happened on my previous Yamaha.

2) Adjusting the speed of the action (fast produces no discerable latency) alters the tonal quality, and indeed displays a softer velocity curve on that setting.

3) The software piano sometimes will produce a rogue note when I least expect it. Now this is whilst running PT 5.3 and above. PT 4.5 doesnt display this last point perhaps cos it utilises less resources.

Maybe I just need a better laptop. . .


If you change the buffer to a smaller number and the ticking gets closer together in time, that would be from the packet being smaller.
As Frankenstein said, "Vista bad, fire good!".

#2558769 - 07/26/16 04:58 AM Re: A couple of issues re Pianoteq [Re: Kawai James]  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,171
peterws Offline
6000 Post Club Member
peterws  Offline
6000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,171
Northern England.
Originally Posted by Kawai James
Originally Posted by peterws
Pteq display, RH side has a series if button thingies...


These?

[Linked Image]

Originally Posted by peterws
...the first of which throws up the keyboard speed.


Do you mean the 'ACTION' button?

[Linked Image]

Originally Posted by peterws
...4 or 5 settings to choose. Any change here will affect the latency, and also the tone considerably...


The tone may well change, but are you sure about the latency? Maybe the *perceived* speed of the simulated acoustic piano action may be influenced by these parameters, but I believe latency is dependent on other factors.

Kind regards,
James
x


There`s a bar to the left of the picture here; the first item on it is the Preset Management. And when you throw it up, all I get is 5 keyboard settings. Its on normal and it`s this selection which causes latency change.

I eventually fiddled around with some of the other settings on Pianoteq (unrelated to this) which also affected latency, and I got a better response. Fortunately the pipping and pedal interference sounds do not record, and they bseem less intrusive now. I strongly suspect that a better midi usb adaptor would help enormously. A Roland one is about 30 smackeroos, the Yamaha one is twice that . . . Ahhh! Decisions!


"I am not a man. I am a free number"

"[Linked Image]"
#2558785 - 07/26/16 06:19 AM Re: A couple of issues re Pianoteq [Re: peterws]  
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 192
siros Offline
Full Member
siros  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 192
Bangkok, Thailand
I think it would be easier to solve the problem if you use the specific terms that are actually shown on the screen.
I use Pianoteq daily and am quite familiar with the UI, but I am still not sure which part you were referring to. (Or maybe it's just me).

Are you talking about the velocity curve presets?
There is a button over the velocity curve graph. Under the "Presets" section, there are 5 presets from Slow to Fast.
I understand that this is for only changing velocity curve setting to match the keyboards. It has no effect on latency.
Slow keyboard in this meaning seems to be equivalent of heavy keys: the velocity curve is steeper than normal to compensate for heavy keys.

#2558889 - 07/26/16 04:15 PM Re: A couple of issues re Pianoteq [Re: siros]  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,171
peterws Offline
6000 Post Club Member
peterws  Offline
6000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,171
Northern England.
Youre probably talking about the same thing, there are 5 presets. And when I play them using the DP voice alongside, you can hear the latency like an echo, on some settings. It does seem better now. But I dont think its saved. . .
Merde!


"I am not a man. I am a free number"

"[Linked Image]"

Moderated by  Piano World 

UK Members
Please check in
UK Members & Friends
Checking on our members and friends from the UK. Please Check In When Able
Piano Acc. & Gift Items in
Piano World's Online Store
In PianoSupplies.com ,(a division of Piano World) our online store for piano and music gifts and accessories, party goods, tuning equipment, piano moving equipment, benches, lamps Caster Cups and more.


Free Shipping on Jansen Artist Piano Benches
ad
Pierce Piano Atlas


(ad)
Pianoteq
Grotrian Concert
Royal
for Pianoteq out now
What's Hot!!
Why Do You Play The Piano?
-------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
-------------------
Piano Classified Ads
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Baroque duets
by WiseBuff. 05/24/17 11:32 PM
where should I put this piano?
by PlunkyPlink. 05/24/17 10:21 PM
Painting the ironplate with an aerograph
by Davemaster84. 05/24/17 08:38 PM
Greatest measure of music?
by JoelW. 05/24/17 08:22 PM
(ad)
Sheet Music Plus
Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale
Forum Statistics
Forums44
Topics179,866
Posts2,629,531
Members87,864
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
Report Problems With New Forums
Report Problems with New Forums Here!
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2017 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0