2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.9 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Petrof Pianos
Petrof Pianos
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq Karsten Collection
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
Who's Online Now
70 members (astrotoy, Abdol, Arty Movie, AaronSF, Boboulus, AlphaBravoCharlie, 18 invisible), 637 guests, and 500 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
5 year old starting lessons, piano purchase help!
#2537996 05/09/16 08:16 AM
I
OP Offline
I
Hello all,

I'm a newbie and know nothing about piano/music myself. My 5 year old has been in group Yamaha lessons for two years and we will now be making the switch to a private teacher. We currently have a two-year old Casio PX135 digital piano.

1. How long will be the Casio be good enough for, which grade? In other words, should I upgrade now or wait? I have heard of friends whose kids still practice on a digital piano at home until at least grade 5 piano.

2. If I wanted to upgrade, is there any concerns with getting a hybrid (i.e. Yamaha Avantgrand series) with real action vs. getting an acoustic upright? Space is an issue and I am worried about maintenance. I am thinking they hybrid is a good compromise to give her the grand action vs. getting a mediocre upright? Please tell me if I am wrong.

Many thanks.

(ad int) Petrof Pianos
Petrof Pianos
Re: 5 year old starting lessons, piano purchase help!
icedtea_gal #2538008 05/09/16 09:06 AM
Bronze Subscriber
2000 Post Club Member
Bronze Subscriber
2000 Post Club Member
I suggest you ask the new teacher for their advice. Better to do that than regret your purchase.

Ian