2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.9 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Petrof Pianos
Petrof Pianos
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq Karsten Collection
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
Who's Online Now
55 members (cgeronimo, computerpro3, 36251, Buzz209, chopinetto, clothearednincompo, Carey, AmyKaye, 15 invisible), 455 guests, and 225 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Roland FP30 or something more expensive?
#2519263 03/09/16 05:37 PM
K
OP Offline
K
Hello everybody,

I am new here and I'm a beginner piano player (been playing for about 1 year) looking for a new digital piano (the one I own is a crappy-sounding plastic thing with little non weighted keys).

Now, I know that the key to buying a new instrument is trying it yourself, and apologize in advance if these kind of topics are opened often.
Unfortunately my city doesn't have a lot of music shops, and those few ones have more or less the same products in offer, so I would really really appreciate any suggestion that you more expert guys might give me.

What I'm mainly looking for:
- heavy action
- realistic sounds
- lightweight

So far I've only tried the Roland FP30 and the Kawai ES7.

I was in love with Kawai instruments after playing a friend's digital piano, but I must say that I've found the action in the ES7 a bit too light, and the sound quality hasn't particularly impressed me.

I've been instead surprised by the FP30, as it has (to my inexpert hands) a very realistic feel and nicely heavy keys.