2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
62 members (80k, AndreaH, Belger1900, astrotoy, apianostudent, Animisha, beeboss, accordeur, 17 invisible), 4,631 guests, and 306 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
S
Sovrel Offline OP
OP Offline
S
I've been playing the piano for a year and a few months now and I've decided I want to go to a university and major in piano performance (however useful that may or may not be). Due to financial aid I've recently discovered that I can actually receive a significant amount of money for going to Rice University (it covers the 45k tuition + estimated living expenses). While the main focus of the university is not music, it is still a prestigious establishment. My question is this: Does anyone reading this have any experience or knowledge about the music program (specifically auditions/admissions) for ivy league schools such as Rice? The requirements for audition are a full classical sonata, bach prelude + fugue, substantial romantic piece, and contemporary/impressionist piece. Memorization will not be a problem for any of these pieces. As of now I am learning Chopin's 3rd Ballade for the substantial romantic piece. And to give some context on my skill level, I've learned the Chopin op 25 no 1 etude in 2.5 weeks. All of my playing is very musical as well and it comes pretty much naturally to me. However, by far my biggest weakness is tha