2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (brennbaer, Bellyman, Barly, 1957, btcomm, Animisha, bobrunyan, 14 invisible), 1,996 guests, and 343 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
X
OP Offline
X
Hello,

Not sure if this is the correct forum to post this specific question, but I'd like to have some advice regarding buying a beginner digital piano. In a couple of weeks I want to pick up playing the piano. I already have experience with music, as i have played the violin for 5 years, but I have no experience whatsoever in playing/buying a piano. So are there any key elements one has to look for when buying a digital piano? and if you'd like could you give me some recommendations? In the future I'm probably not going to perform with it, so it will be something I will only use at home. Also it doesn't need many extra features but I don't want it be too limiting, because when I eventually get better I still want to be able to use it for a couple of years.
A digital piano that has caught my eye is the Yamaha P115

Thank you very much!

F
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
F
There are a number of fine pianos in the same price range as the yamaha you're looking at. The casio privia PX160, The kawai ES100, and the new (available soon) Roland FP-30 are also worth looking at.

Do you have a teacher lined up? If so they may be able to make some commendations (some will even go piano shopping with you). If that's not feasible, usually you can ask a salesperson to play something for you.