2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
35 members (crazyRyoga, David B, Boboulus, bohemiatotal, clothearednincompo, Almar, brennbaer, Adem, beeboss, 8 invisible), 411 guests, and 575 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Poll: do you practice passage work in groups and rhythms?
#2505127 01/29/16 02:04 AM
S
OP Offline
S
I'm a professional violinist, and was taught to practice rapid passage work (and etudes such as Hanon) when I took piano lessons in college. It's how I teach my violin students, and the ones who use the method rapidly master scales and all manner of passages. Piano problems with control and evenness are similar to those for string players: our 4 fingers differ in strength, and we have issues such as shifting and string crossing with the bow that causes unevenness. Practicing in a variety of grouping and rhythms very quickly evens things out. The method also gives focus to practice and can relieve the tedium of technical practice.

I often have violin students that also take piano lessons, and I ask them if their piano teachers teach them this method. It surprises me that more are not taught this, even by the more experienced piano teachers in the area.

So my question: are you (or were you) taught to practice with groups and rhythms, and if so do you use them consistently in your practice of scales, etudes, and fast passage work?