Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.7 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
Find a Professional
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Advertise on Piano World

(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Who's Online Now
68 registered members (AZNpiano, Animisha, AnnInMiami, BearLake, Bett, ando, Alex Hutor, astrotoy, brendon, 17 invisible), 1,256 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Connecting Roland RP401R to Audiobox #2504468
01/27/16 05:34 AM
01/27/16 05:34 AM
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
R
rose49 Offline OP
Junior Member
rose49  Offline OP
Junior Member
R

Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
Just trying to figure out whether we will be able to connect our Audiobox 22vsl interface (with studio one artist), to a Roland RP401R digital keyboard (http://www.roland.com/products/rp401r/). Also, if so, will we need any particular cords to do so?

Piano & Music Gifts & Accessories (570)
Piano accessories and music gift items, digital piano dolly, music theme party goods
Re: Connecting Roland RP401R to Audiobox [Re: rose49] #2504470
01/27/16 05:36 AM
01/27/16 05:36 AM
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 109
G
Garf Offline
Full Member
Garf  Offline
Full Member
G

Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 109
Sure, just connect the line out from the RP401R to the line in (instrument in) in that interface. Standard audio cable and jacks will do.

Re: Connecting Roland RP401R to Audiobox [Re: rose49] #2504471
01/27/16 05:41 AM
01/27/16 05:41 AM
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
R
rose49 Offline OP
Junior Member
rose49  Offline OP
Junior Member
R

Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
Garth, thanks heaps for such a quick reply. So, just to triple check with this (it's a lot of money for us!), we want to be able to overdub multiple tracks into a PC (not just into the roland) and end up with a multi-track recording. My terminology may be rubbish here...

Also, on the audiobox, there's no line in. Do you mean "midi in"? Sorry for the ignorance.

Re: Connecting Roland RP401R to Audiobox [Re: rose49] #2504476
01/27/16 06:07 AM
01/27/16 06:07 AM
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 109
G
Garf Offline
Full Member
Garf  Offline
Full Member
G

Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 109
Originally Posted by rose49
Garth, thanks heaps for such a quick reply. So, just to triple check with this (it's a lot of money for us!), we want to be able to overdub multiple tracks into a PC (not just into the roland) and end up with a multi-track recording. My terminology may be rubbish here...

Also, on the audiobox, there's no line in. Do you mean "midi in"? Sorry for the ignorance.


From the tech specs of that audio interface:

2 dual-purpose front-panel input channels, each with:
Combo XLR mic and balanced ¼" instrument input

Instrument Inputs
Connector Type Combo, ¼” TS, female, unbalanced

So the two big black holes in front basically, they're called "instrument in" instead of "line in" here. The same holes function as microphone inputs but you would use them as instrument in for recording the RP401R.

The RP401R has a line output:
Output jack: Stereo miniature phone type

So it seems like the size of the jacks is mismatched, but converting a "miniature phone type" jack to a 1/4" jack can be done with an extremely common adapter that you can get almost everywhere, so that wouldn't be an issue.

You'll need a converter cable like the poster below me indicated, as the inputs on the audio device are TS (mono) not TRS (stereo).

I understood that you want to record the Roland's sound into the PC. That will work with the above. You still need some software to deal with the multi-track recording, but it looks like "Presonus Studio One Artist" is part of the package of that audio interface?

You do not want the MIDI in (for now). That will just send the note data to the computer, not the piano (or whatever instrument selected on the Roland) sound. If you want the computer to generate the actual instrument sounds, and not use the ones built into the Roland, then you'd use the MIDI in.

Last edited by Garf; 01/27/16 06:22 AM. Reason: TS vs TRS
Re: Connecting Roland RP401R to Audiobox [Re: Garf] #2504477
01/27/16 06:15 AM
01/27/16 06:15 AM
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 30
BusyWait Offline
Full Member
BusyWait  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 30
Something like this to record the audio:
http://www.kenable.co.uk/product_info.php?products_id=4468

I found if I have the RP401R connected to my computer by usb at the same time then low level noise appears on the headphone and audio output of the RP401. If that happens to you then unplug the USB while you're making your recording (if that's an option).


Regards,
Steven
---
(Re)beginner
Roland RP401R
Re: Connecting Roland RP401R to Audiobox [Re: Garf] #2504478
01/27/16 06:19 AM
01/27/16 06:19 AM
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
R
rose49 Offline OP
Junior Member
rose49  Offline OP
Junior Member
R

Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
Thanks so much Garf(misnamed in last post). That's answered our concerns and we'll go ahead and purchase it. Really appreciate you helping out. thumb

Re: Connecting Roland RP401R to Audiobox [Re: BusyWait] #2504479
01/27/16 06:31 AM
01/27/16 06:31 AM
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
R
rose49 Offline OP
Junior Member
rose49  Offline OP
Junior Member
R

Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
Originally Posted by BusyWait
Something like this to record the audio:
http://www.kenable.co.uk/product_info.php?products_id=4468

I found if I have the RP401R connected to my computer by usb at the same time then low level noise appears on the headphone and audio output of the RP401. If that happens to you then unplug the USB while you're making your recording (if that's an option).

Thanks for that tip Steven, we'll keep that in mind. That cord looks super cheap.

Re: Connecting Roland RP401R to Audiobox [Re: rose49] #2504539
01/27/16 10:51 AM
01/27/16 10:51 AM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,909
Richmond, BC, Canada
C
Charles Cohen Offline
4000 Post Club Member
Charles Cohen  Offline
4000 Post Club Member
C

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,909
Richmond, BC, Canada
PMFJI --

It's not so simple. "Instrument input" is not the same as "Line Input".

From the User Manual:

Quote

Both channels of the AudioBox 22VSL (and the first two channels of the
AudioBox 44VSL) have Mic/Instrument combo jacks. This convenient
connector accepts either a ¼-inch phone plug or an XLR plug.

• Instrument Inputs. The ¼-inch TS connectors on channels 1 and 2
are for use with instruments (guitar, bass, etc.).
When an instrument is
plugged into the instrument input, the mic preamp is bypassed, and
the AudioBox 22/44VSL becomes an instrument preamplifier.
• Line-level Inputs (AudioBox 44VSL Only). Channels 3 and 4 of the AudioBox
44VSL have a ¼-inch, balanced TRS connection for line-level input. When
these inputs are engaged, the microphone-preamp circuit is bypassed.
Typical examples of line-level connections are synthesizer outputs, CD/
DVD-player outputs, and (with exceptions) signal-processor outputs.
Power User Tip: Active instruments are those that have an internal preamp or a line-level output.
Active instruments should be plugged into a line input rather than into an instrument input.
Plugging a line-level source into the instrument inputs on the front of the AudioBox 22/44VSL not
only risks damage to these inputs but also results in a very loud and often distorted audio signal.



The Roland outputs are line-level.

If I were in this situation, I'd either get the 4-channel AudioBox interface (with line-level inputs), or use a "stereo DI box" (which converts line-level unbalanced input from the Roland to balanced, mic-level signals to the AudioBox).



. Charles
---------------------------
PX-350 / microKorg XL+ / Pianoteq / Lounge Lizard / Korg Wavedrum / EV ZXA1 speaker
Re: Connecting Roland RP401R to Audiobox [Re: rose49] #2504548
01/27/16 11:15 AM
01/27/16 11:15 AM
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 109
G
Garf Offline
Full Member
Garf  Offline
Full Member
G

Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 109
Ouch, you are right. Sorry for giving false info, I had no idea audio interfaces that don't take line level inputs are even a thing!

Re: Connecting Roland RP401R to Audiobox [Re: rose49] #2504648
01/27/16 04:34 PM
01/27/16 04:34 PM
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
R
rose49 Offline OP
Junior Member
rose49  Offline OP
Junior Member
R

Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
So for someone like me who has no idea what the problem there actually is, can either of you explain it to me in non-technical language? Is it a dealbreaker for the roland?

Re: Connecting Roland RP401R to Audiobox [Re: rose49] #2504660
01/27/16 05:19 PM
01/27/16 05:19 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,909
Richmond, BC, Canada
C
Charles Cohen Offline
4000 Post Club Member
Charles Cohen  Offline
4000 Post Club Member
C

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,909
Richmond, BC, Canada
The Roland is fine. The problem is that the audio interface you picked, doesn't let you use the Roland's output (or the output from any other DP).

Either get a stereo DI box to make the two compatible, or choose an audio interface with "Line In" jacks.

I haven't checked, but I'd guess a stereo DI box might sell for $50 or so. More info later...


. Charles
---------------------------
PX-350 / microKorg XL+ / Pianoteq / Lounge Lizard / Korg Wavedrum / EV ZXA1 speaker
Re: Connecting Roland RP401R to Audiobox [Re: Garf] #2504674
01/27/16 06:13 PM
01/27/16 06:13 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,909
Richmond, BC, Canada
C
Charles Cohen Offline
4000 Post Club Member
Charles Cohen  Offline
4000 Post Club Member
C

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,909
Richmond, BC, Canada
Originally Posted by Garf
Ouch, you are right. Sorry for giving false info, I had no idea audio interfaces that don't take line level inputs are even a thing!


iMHO, it's a dumb design decision. I suppose the target audience has a vocal mic and a guitar, but no mono keyboard or mono synth. How much would it cost to put in a "Line / Instrument" switch?

On "stereo DI boxes" -- there aren't any cheap ones, that I can find.

I use one of these ART DI's,and it seems OK to me. You can buy two (left-channel, and right-channel) for $50:

http://www.amazon.com/ART-ZDirect-Professional-Passive-Direct/dp/B0009GYIL2


As you said, the RP401 "line out" is a single 3.5mm (1/8") stereo jack. So you'll need:

. . . a "splitter cable" -- 1/8" stereo plug to two "TR" 1/4" mono plugs (one left-channel, one right-channel) -- to go from the RP401 to the DI box high-impedance input.

. . . and two XLR (balanced) mic cables to go from the DI boxes "Mic" (balanced) outputs to the audio interface "Mic" inputs.

It'll work fine. It's all standard music-shop stuff.





. Charles
---------------------------
PX-350 / microKorg XL+ / Pianoteq / Lounge Lizard / Korg Wavedrum / EV ZXA1 speaker
Re: Connecting Roland RP401R to Audiobox [Re: rose49] #2504820
01/28/16 04:38 AM
01/28/16 04:38 AM
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 109
G
Garf Offline
Full Member
Garf  Offline
Full Member
G

Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 109
Originally Posted by rose49
So for someone like me who has no idea what the problem there actually is, can either of you explain it to me in non-technical language? Is it a dealbreaker for the roland?


As said, the Roland is fine. It has the same connection as any other digital piano.

The problem is the "Audiobox 22vsl" interface who is missing the correct input. (And this caught me by surprise which is why, and I'm sorry again, I gave you the wrong information)

There are 2 types of input discussed here:
- "Line level" for when the input is "loud", from a device with a built in amplifier. These are digital pianos, keyboards, CD/DVD players, mixing tables, PC sound cards, ...

- "Instrument level" where the input is "quiet". I only really know of electric guitars and basses *without* their amplifier connected as something that would produce such a signal (mics are a different story again).

The "Audiobox 22vsl" only takes Microphones and "Instrument level" inputs. It does not support "Line level" by itself.

Did you already buy this device? There are some options either way.


Moderated by  Piano World 

(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq Bechstein
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinways
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Polished Ebony Finish
by Romar. 07/16/19 07:02 PM
1973 Mason & Hamlin Model A
by vickie1124. 07/16/19 06:12 PM
Digital Piano Headphones
by Romar. 07/16/19 05:53 PM
NAMM 2019 - New Releases? - What to expect?
by Romar. 07/16/19 05:47 PM
Kawai Bluetooth MIDI and Windows?
by magicpiano. 07/16/19 02:50 PM
What's Hot!!
PIANO TEACHERS Please read this!
-------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
Forum Statistics
Forums41
Topics193,037
Posts2,849,121
Members93,895
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
Please Support Our Advertisers
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinways

Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver

 Best of Piano Buyer

PianoTeq Bechstein
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2019 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1