2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
45 members (1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, busa, Doug M., 36251, Davidnewmind, Dfrankjazz, brdwyguy, 6 invisible), 1,198 guests, and 256 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
J
Jerm Offline OP
OP Offline
J
I'm about to pull the trigger on the Casio CGP700 from AZ Piano Wholesale. Wanted to get some other opinions since I know next to nothing about pianos or music in general. Here's my situation.
- Buying for my wife and I to learn on (I have no music experience, my wife had 2 years of Violin in high school) as well as my kids who are 4 and 5. I can basically play a poor mans version of fur elise (right hand only lol) and the tune from Beverly Hills Cop smile.
- Will not be traveling with it nor do I want to buy separate amp/speakers.
- I'm a techie so in addition to learning sheet music via an Alfred book or other, watching the Lypur tutorials on youtube, I'll be connecting it to an ipad for some of the piano games/apps available (Synthesia?)
- Want to spend less than $1000, the lower the better but want a full size weighted key model to learn on.

Any other recommendations? I considered a Yamaha DGX650 and Kawai ES100 but for my needs, price, and features it seems this newer model Casio would be a better fit.

Also is the included single sustain pedal enough or should I get the 3 pedal setup right away? I figured single for now as I probably wouldn't need the others for a while if at all.

Finally for an adult beginner would you recommend the Alfred books? I do really like the Lypur videos so far (on Lesson 5 but will restart when the piano comes).