2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
34 members (Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, admodios, 9 invisible), 1,220 guests, and 341 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
ster100 Offline OP
OP Offline
S
I want to play better, so i need to play exercises (I think).
Which exercises will I use?
Advice is welkom.

level: beginner-average

Last edited by ster100; 08/25/15 07:35 AM.
L
L
As a relative beginner myself (3 years) , I try to split my technique work into two camps. In the first camp, I expand my vocabulary of the piano by scales (parallel and contrary, and also with one hand starting at a third or sixth relative to the other), and by chords and arpeggios (with inversions and seventh chords). Some people don't like this kind of practice, but for me, it increases my familiarity with the keyboard, so I know exactly where I am in any key, which helps in things like sight reading. The second camp is based on deficiencies in your playing. In the pieces you play, where are you having problems? What pieces can't you finish? You have to look at these and understand what the difficulty is and why you are unable to do this. A teacher will help you out with this, with understanding why you are not playing something well and suggesting ways to approach playing the problematic passage. To me, having a teacher is more important than practicing technical exercises.

Last edited by lautreamont; 08/25/15 02:17 PM.
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member