2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad) SWEETWATER Cyber Week Deals
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
43 members (Deltajockey, ChrisGoesPiano, AmyBNE, Calavera, cygnusdei, CraiginNZ, apianostudent, 13 invisible), 495 guests, and 430 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
W
OP Offline
W
It's me again, a self taught person with a lot of problems. One thing I've always had a problem with is how hard and soft I hit the keys. I often find myself accidentally banging down on a key, especially in the left hand, and other times I completely miss hitting a key because I put my finger down so lightly. Does anybody know what could be causing this? I'm not sure if it's a mental thing, or a problem with my hands and wrists. I don't really understand why it happens because in my head I know that a certain note shouldn't be so loud or so soft but my fingers do it. Has anybody had a problem with this, or a student with this problem and know why it was happening?

I've been researching hand and finger position and how to strike the keys. I'm trying to relax my wrists, curve the ends of my fingers more and let my fingers fall to the keys like they say in the videos. I'm hoping it will somehow help. I'm also hoping it will help a problem I have with playing some combinations of black and white keys at exactly the same time.

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment