2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
35 members (Animisha, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, admodios, 9 invisible), 1,137 guests, and 323 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OP Offline
Howdy folks,

In short, I've always wanted to learn to play but never happened due to the lack of a piano in family circles. I'm a hobbyist musician and producer. As a musician I'm most familiar with strin instruments and right now I feel that it's finally time to go for the omnipresent piano.

For those not in the EU, the €700 budget lives right around the Casio Privia PX-350 and the new Yamaha P-115. I've played the P-115 in a store yesterday and it seemed really nice.

But what do I know, right? I've never played real pianos for longer than a few hours at a time. most likely once a year.

What I want is this:
  • Feel should be as much like a real piano as possible (although half-pedaling is perhaps overkill)
  • Sound should be sufficient for a reasonable (kind of standard rock/pop mix) to sparse mix (i.e. some other string instruments and perhaps percussion or sampled drums)
  • Piano sound is most important, any other sounds are fun but not required
  • On-board speakers are not important, I have an interface and studio monitors I can plug into
  • On-board recording is unnecessary as I've spent plenty of time in DAWs
  • MIDI I/O or by USB would be much appreciated