2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
63 members (brennbaer, accordeur, antune, Colin Miles, anotherscott, AndyOnThePiano2, benkeys, 11 invisible), 1,860 guests, and 321 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
R
rifung Offline OP
OP Offline
R
Hi all! I am looking to buy my first grand piano! A little background, I've been playing for about 3 years and currently practice on a Yamaha N1. I recently started taking lessons again and have been having trouble adjusting to playing on an acoustic. My teacher said that I need to get a acoustic piano sooner rather than later, and seeing as I'm an adult and have trouble finding enough time to practice as it is, I want those hours to count.

That being the case, I'm looking to buy my first grand! I'd prefer to stay under $25k. Currently I am looking at used pianos just as all the new pianos I've tried in that price range have been more or less disappionting. I'm living in Seattle.

Do you guys have any recommendations as to what I should be looking for? The reason I ask is that I've noticed the Yamaha C3X I tried feels completely different from most other pianos, and I tend to like the control from pianos with a very light touch. On the other hand, seeing as I'm still learning, I wonder if it would be good to play on a piano that isn't as easy to control because presumably if one ever performs it will be on an unfamiliar piano.