2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
73 members (AndyOnThePiano2, APianistHasNoName, AlkansBookcase, Charles Cohen, BillS728, 36251, anotherscott, 12 invisible), 2,120 guests, and 337 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
I've been learning on my own for two or three months now, and making reasonable progress. I recently met with a teacher to discuss lessons. I pointed out that, at 6'-6" tall, with long legs, I couldn't get my knees under the edge of the keyboard, nor could I position my feet to operate the pedals. (I have raised my own small grand on 1¾" blocks). Her solution to be able to play her piano was for me to place my knees against the front of the keyboard and stretch my arms out almost straight to be able to reach the keys. I tried this when I got home, and it was unworkable after about 5 minutes. Before I raised my own instrument, I was stretching my legs either forward or back to allow me to get my knees 2-3" under the keyboard, which puts my arms and body in good alignment. Of course, at this stage, I do not need the pedals. My bench is at the correct height to put my forearms parallel to the floor and elbows at the same height as the keyboard. From everything I've found, there is widespread agreement, within slight variations, that this is correct. I searched for any pictures I could find of professional pianists as well as teachers, also looked for descriptions of posture, and found none that called for sitting so far away that the arms are held out straight, and concluded that she gave me this answer to recruit a new student.